Do I have a Keylogger in Snow Leopard/Firefox?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by duggram, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. duggram macrumors 6502

    duggram

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #1
    For more than a month now I've noticed that when I type Firefox there's a hesitation before the type shows on screen. The delay is not consistent and is variable. Some times I have to wait for as many as 5 letters to show up. Then it types okay for 20 characters. This started after installing SL. BTW the only sites I visit are forums, news and ESPN. I don't download attachments or questionable software.

    I just noticed that this only happens when typing in Firefox. Textedit and Word work without a problem. Is there a problem with Firefox?

    Any suggestions on what I should do about this?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Use safari.

    Also google to see if such a program/plugin exists for firefox. I would assume firefox would have a plug-in folder probably in the ~/Library folder, check that out, or at the very least purge every reference of Firefox from your computer and reinstall - see if that helps.

    Check out your login items in the preference pane but also /Library/StartupItems as well.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Highly doubt it's a keylogger if it only happens in FF.
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Highly doubt it's a key logger. It could potentially be related to a Firefox addon, or it could be related to ill-written JavaScript on a site that's trying to run when you're typing. I've seen this same behavior on the rare occasion, but it's not often.
     
  5. Stingray454 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #5
    I noticed similar slow keystrokes in firefox. That was beacuse of high CPU load (in my case a program running in vmware that sucked up all system resources). Check the activity monitor if any other process is taking up a lot of CPU time on your system.
     
  6. PeteB macrumors 6502a

    PeteB

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #6
    I get the same thing sometimes with FireFox as well.

    I put it down to a bit of CPU lag. Hopefully an update to FireFox will sort it out.
     

Share This Page