Do I have spyware?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Drtydzn12, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. Drtydzn12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone, this is my first mac, with that being said, I am scared thinking I have spyware. Just browsing on myspace, I get a pop up that says all the usual bs "warning you have a virus scan this scan that blah blah blah" i cancel, then the browser goes to a page of what looks like a windows "my computer" screen.

    a second popup comes simultaneously, with the only option being "OK". i hit escape, the page goes back to myspace. this is the first time it ever happened to me, do i have spyware?

    sorry if my english is terrible, i live in hawaii and we got this slang called pidgin, so yeah. haha.

    thanks for the help guys!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Pop-up advertisement, nothing more I presume.

    Don't worry.
     
  3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Yup, nothing more than pop-up ads. Though I'd think the browser's pop-up blocker should stop those. Make sure it's in enabled in your browser so you can void most of those.
     
  4. raygungirl macrumors member

    raygungirl

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    Your English sounds 100% a-ok to me. Although, I am an American. ;)

    Definitely just a pop-up. If you're using Firefox, Adblock Plus might help, too. I've only recently been using it and I always wonder why it took me so long to install it, because it's great.
     
  5. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
  6. dandaman2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #6
    iAntiVirus

    Agreed, just pop ups. Though, another macrumors forums user tipped me off to a little app called iAntiVirus. I don't keep it running all to time because between all my other utilities, I don't have the extra memory, and I use safe web practices anyway. But, every month or so, I use that program to do a full scan just to be extra sure.
     

Share This Page