do i have Tiger or Leopard??

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lyrikal001, Nov 28, 2007.

1. lyrikal001 macrumors newbie

I know this is probably a stupid question but i am new to mac, i have bought a second hand imac g5 off ebay with a pre-installed os - how do i know if it is leopard os or tiger?

Also, the person who owned this imac last is still listed as the admin, how can i change it from his account to mine? (lucky he hasn't put a password on there though)

Thanks

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

Click on the Apple logo in the top left and choose About this Mac. It will tell you if you have 10.4.x or 10.5.x. 10.4 is Tiger, 10.5 is Leopard.

3. cecoleman macrumors regular

Easier than that, is the menu bar at the top transparent? or Not? If it is, its Leopard...if its not, its Tiger.

4. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

is the apple logo (on the left) on the top menu bar blue or black

blue is tiger

black is leopard

5. milessthomas macrumors newbie

For the account thing. If you just want to start fresh go to system preferences->Accounts. Create a new account, then click the security tab on the new account and checkmark "allow this user to make administrative...(Whatever it says)" then log out of the old acct. Log into your new account and go back to sysprefs->accounts and highlight the old account name and click the minus to delete it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

(images via google, sources: de.lbcc.edu, catalyst.washington.edu, and www.welleslet.edu)

6. benolathe macrumors newbie

Thank you for asking - I assumed I had Leopard because I waited until it was released to purchase my MacBook. But alas, I have Tiger. If I remember correctly, there was a Leopard disk in the box, but I assumed that was for back-up purposes in case I had OS problems. Guess I'll pull the disk out and install Leopard tomorrow!

7. Dammit Cubs macrumors 68000

Dammit Cubs

8. davidjearly macrumors 68020

davidjearly

No

No

No.