Do I have to erase my iPhone to sync one little ringtone??

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by joflo723, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. joflo723 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #1
    I have never downloaded songs or ringtones, so I've never synched that part of iTunes before. Today I synched my phone as usual. Then I downloaded a ringtone to iTunes, and turned on Sync Ringtones, Selected Ringtones, and selected the ringtone i want on my iPhone. Now I'm getting a "Do you want to erase this iPhone and sync with this iTunes library?" message.

    I absolutely do not want to erase my entire iPhone for one little ringtone. Is that the only way to get it on my phone? If so, I'll do without.
     
  2. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    I believe you should be able to download the ringtone directly onto your phone. Just open the iTunes app, search for the ringtone you want, and buy / download it.
     
  3. joflo723, Oct 22, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2011

    joflo723 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #3
    I tried that but it's forcing me to purchase it again.

    Edit: Nevermind...I said screw it and went to purchase it again (I really wanted that ringtone), and it said "You've purchased this before. Do you want to purchase it again?" and when I clicked yes, it downloaded it, but I don't think it charged me again.
     
  4. stormchaser macrumors 6502

    stormchaser

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I always just drag and drop into iPhone from iTunes library it's easier and I don't sync them. I also manually manage music and videos.
     
  5. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #5
    That message usually pops up when you're syncing your iPhone with someone else's computer.
    Make sure you're not doing that.
    If it is your own computer and all of your data is on there, along with a backup, then erase away.
     
  6. joflo723 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #6
    THIS is what I'd like to do, but in iTunes, when I try to drag from Library > Ringtones to iPhone > Ringtones, I just get the red "no" symbol ([​IMG]) and it won't let me drag and drop. How are you able to?
     

Share This Page