Do I have to unlock the iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by heatguts58, Sep 5, 2008.

  1. heatguts58 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #1
    Well I'm with At&t and currently use the LG shine, but wanted to up to a used iphone, question is.. do i still have to unlock it to use the phone? since I'm already with At&t.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Nope, just take the SIM from the Shine and insert it into the iPhone then connect to iTunes. You will likely have to activate the phone, which will add the data plan for $20 (for the iPhone EDGE) or $30 for the 3G.

    TEG
     
  3. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #3
    I'm pretty sure you only need to bring it to an at&t store to activate it.
     
  4. heatguts58 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #4
    Thanks for the responses. But wait, I'm on a family plan and don't want to lose that, I just want to add 20 dollars a month for EDGE. Does that change anything you guys said?
     
  5. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    If you're getting a iPhone "2G", all you need to do is put in your SIM and activate it at home using iTunes. You'll simply add the $20 EDGE plan to your existing service.
     
  6. heatguts58 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #6
    Ok awesome!! thanks. Now I just need a iphone 2G haha.
     

Share This Page