Do I have to upgrade to El Capitan?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by codger, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. codger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Cobham, England
    #1
    Hi,
    I presently have Mavericks 10.9.5 on my iMac. Do I have to update to El Capitan or can I just go to Yosemite first?

    Thanks
     
  2. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #2
    Provided you purchased Yosemite in the Mac App Store, you can install that one at any time. You can install any version you like.
     
  3. codger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Cobham, England
  4. Kate4u macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    #4
    Do not update to EI Capitan until 10.11.3 !
     
  5. codger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Cobham, England
    #5
    OMG! what is the problem with OS X 10.11.1 and 10.11.2 !!
     
  6. thedeske macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #6
    Or 4 or 5 ;)
     
  7. codger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    Cobham, England
    #7
    Oh no! I am finished then, finished and down the plug hole, good bye cruel world!
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    I am running 10.11.1 on my MBA and PB of 10.11.2 on my Mac Pro. No issues for me:p

    Lou
     
  9. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #9
    I am curious is there a specific reason you want to upgrade?

    Mavericks is supported with security updates so there is no rush to upgrade...
     
  10. c8rlo macrumors 6502

    c8rlo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    FL
    #10
    you can always try it out and if you don't like it you can always go back to Mavericks.
     
  11. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #11
    Strange as it is--or at least strange to me--my early-2008 iMac with 2GB of RAM is running better and faster now with El Capitan than it was with Mavericks--go figure. No clean install--just update from Mavericks--smooth as silk.
     
  12. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #12
    ..as long as you remember to switch Time Machine OFF before upgrading so Cappy doesn't have a chance to "upgrade" your backups making them impossible to use under Mavericks.
     
  13. colodane macrumors 6502a

    colodane

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #13
    That is interesting. Can you (or someone else) please expand on this?

    What exactly do you mean by "upgrade" the backups? Does just the app data change, or is the entire OS of the backups changed to El Capitan?

    I use Time Machine, but am new to the OS upgrade process. So am interested in learning about how they interact.

    Thanks!
     
  14. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #14
    I don't know how exactly this works from the technical point of view. But once you make a TM backup with a newer operating system, the older system version refuses to read it as incompatible. So when I was installing Cappy beta, I switched Time Machine off BEFORE install (so that it had no chance whatsoever of making a Cappy backup).
     

Share This Page