Do I necessarily need Leopard OS ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alebar14, Oct 20, 2007.

  1. alebar14 macrumors regular

    alebar14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland CBD, New Zealand
    #1
    Hi there,

    Just wondering if I really need to get a Leopard instead of keeping Tiger? I use my MBP for graphic design projects (Adobe CS3), playing game emulators and surfing internet multi-tab websites.

    Will there be any significant speed increasing ? Is it obsolete having a 32 bit core architecture? What would be other advantages having a Leopard on my current MBP ?

    Thanks !
     
  2. russell.h macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #2
    Are you having any problems with Tiger?

    If not then I don't see what could be wrong with sticking with it. You won't notice any speed increase with Leopard, most likely it will run slower.

    And most importantly, last I heard there were reports that CS3 might not even run properly on Leopard (although it was just a rumor backed up by claims from a few people who said they had tested it and reported tons of huge bugs).

    So you definitely don't need Leopard, and you could potentially very much not want it. My suggestion would be to hold off for a few weeks anyway until you see what experiences others are having. Got to an Apple store or somewhere that you can try it out and just see what you think. Then if you want it enough to justify the cost (both monetary, and in terms of the effort it will take you to transition) go ahead and "upgrade".

    Disclaimer: I already preordered.
     
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    past upgrades have improved speed on the same system. seeing how leopard is optimized for intel i would expect it to be even faster than tiger
     
  4. mojohanna macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #4
    I'm getting it predominantly for Time Machine. My music and photo collections are getting too big and I worry about them. B/U on a DVD is too painful.
     
  5. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #5
    None, if you put a leopard on there, you won't be able to get any work done! It will just be sitting there, on your MacBook Pro, possibly crushing it under its weight. Definitely scratching the crap out of it with its claws.... don't get a leopard and put it on your MacBook Pro.

    However, as others have said, getting Leopard is mostly up to you. I have seen slight performance boosts from using it on my MacBook as compared to Tiger, but that could be mental.
     
  6. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #6
    CS3 is my main concern. Seems I recall someone on here saying CS3 worked great in Leopard, but this person didn't offer any info as to how he/she knew that. I've pre-ordered also but will be installing Leopard first on my secondary (i.e., "non-production") Mac and testing CS3 and other stuff, in order to be sure before putting it on my main machine (the one with my life's worth of data on it). I would consider this sound advice for anyone with a "spare" Mac.
     
  7. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    You WILL need it when Apple and 3rd-party developers start requiring it, as usual.

    This is the worst thing about the Mac platform.
     
  8. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #8
    Do You Need A Computer?

    Have you watched the guided tour yet?

    I think if you give it 27 minutes and 37 seconds you will see why you need it and you need it NOW! jk

    Of course Adobe will be a few weeks behind with their Leopard optimization. And yes your 32 bit CD MacBook Pro is obsolete - from a future tech point of view. If I were you I would sell it and buy a refurbished current 2.4GHz C2D model ASAP. It's only going to cost you a few hundred dollars difference to make that move and your CS3 suite will thank you for it.
     
  9. jackc macrumors 65816

    jackc

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #9
    You can also use an external drive
     
  10. mojohanna macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #10
    Got one already, but it is a huge hassle to tinker with the libs, especially the iphoto one.
     
  11. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #11
    You've used Leopard then, right? No?

    Well ok then...every single report from people with access to Leopard seeds has been that's its faster, not slower. I'd rather stick with that than misplaced speculation.
     
  12. mrtekkid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #12
    Actually from what I read, as Leopard was developed Adobe became more compatible with it. So at first it really did not run and then as Leopard made tweaks, it became more stable running on the OS. I looked around for awhile about this and that's what I found.
     
  13. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #13
    That is because they are actually introducing things into the OS worth taking advantage of from a development standpoint, and as such, the devs will want to take advantage of it.

    They will keep the Tiger compatible versions available, they will just EOL them and concentrate on Leopard. Why continue to make software for an older OS if your customers are predominantly going to be using the new OS?
     
  14. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    Time machine requires a separate HDD. You can manually back-up to a second HDD just as easily, or use something like Silverkeeper.
     
  15. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #15
    It could be closer to $1000 after you factor in tax and what you might get for a rev. A MBP. A rather foolish suggestion if you ask me.
     
  16. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #16
    hey multimedia, heres a pm i tried to send to you (your inbox is full) :)

     
  17. sal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #17
    You should probably get tiger when you get a new machine. It doen't seem like you need to upgrade right now.
     

Share This Page