Do I need 16gb ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Alphonsus, Jun 8, 2017.

  1. Alphonsus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusett
    #1
    So I have been looking into a computer and been trying to choose between a Mac and a PC. For the Mac I will probably not get 16 gb ram but for the PC, I am waiting for a sale to get 16gb ram for the XPS 15. However I am not sure if I really need it and should I just go ahead and get(plan to get) the 8gb version.

    I search the web, watch videos, play games, and I am planning on doing a little bit of editing some videos(nothing too big though). For games I normally play games that need less than 8 gb and I don't play any of the new intensive games like Overwatch or GTA V.

    I am 17 years old, and for the most part should the 8gb last me for about 4-5 years inorder to finish 4 years college.
     
  2. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #2
    You'll probably be fine with 8, but you'll be better off with 16. If nothing else ... for future-proofing. If you're using it for 4-5 years of college, just max out the RAM.
     
  3. Merkava_4 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #3
    A lot of people keep mentioning the Dell XPS 15, but they forget, the Windows OS still gets loaded down with viruses.
     
  4. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #4
    If you lack common sense, yes. It's very easy to stay protected against viruses.
     
  5. Merkava_4 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Sure.... if you follow the 10 Commandments and only visit "nice" websites....
     
  6. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #6
    Or use reputable software such as BitDefender.
     
  7. IllIllIll macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #7
    If you have to ask, you probably don't NEED it. Would it be nice to have? Sure. When it comes to computer tech always buy the most you can afford.
     
  8. concernedone macrumors regular

    concernedone

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Not, necessarily... I think if you get windows (or even a mac), get a good antivirus software no matter who you are.
     
  9. Alphonsus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusett
    #9
    Yeah, I got a 3 year McAfee security software for it.

    However when it comes to the computers, the PC offers more spec wise for your money while the Mac offers more on software
     
  10. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #10
    It sounds like the base MacBook Pro 13 with 8GB of RAM will suit your needs well.


    Avoid McAfee like the plague. I cannot tell you how many machines with McAfee installed come in with all sorts of nasty things on them. IMO BitDefender, Trend Micro, Kaspersky, ESET, Emsisoft, F-Secure, and Avast (if you want free) are several reputable names (each with their own pros/cons.)
     
  11. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    Yeah,bitdefender is good,but why buy a computer filled with useless bloat ware from the start?
     
  12. Alphonsus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusett
    #12
    for those software do I buy online if I get that computer
     
  13. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #13
    You can. You can often find many of them at places that sell computers. Sometimes they offer discounts with a new computer purchase. Depending on whether you want AV-only or a full security suite, prices generally range from about $15-60 a year (unless you purchase a multi-device/multi-year package, where you can often save more.)

    I'm currently using BitDefender Internet Security, Trend Micro Antivirus Plus, and ESET NOD32 AV on various Windows machines and VMs. I personally like the advanced options that both the Trend Micro and ESET products have as I can customize them more to my own usage needs. All work well at doing what they are supposed to do.
     
  14. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #14


    In all seriousness I've never gotten a virus or any kind of malware on my PCs, I watch what sites I go to and I occasionally run Malwarebytes to be on the safe side.
     
  15. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #15
    That's not even an argument. You can do a clean install of Windows with no bloat ... or you can simply uninstall what it came with.
     
  16. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #16
    This is like a prerequisite whenever you get a PC laptop or OEM desktop: https://www.pcdecrapifier.com/
     
  17. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #17
  18. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #18
    I have that on both my desktop PC and Dell laptop actually, needed it to get rid of a bunch of Windows apps I wasn't using. It's kind of pushy about you buying their other software though.
     
  19. Pangalactic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    #19
    LOL. Click the windows button -> search reset this PC -> reset this PC, done, all problems solved.

    The first thing I always do is buy Kaspersky antivirus and install it on any new machine, had ZERO virus, adware or malware infection in 15 years of using windows laptops. They got day 1 WannaCry protection. Good luck to all the "protected" mac users with zero real protection.

    Back to the topic - not really, unless you do video editing, for everything else 8GB is more than enough, and Mac is quite efficient with its memory and doesn't get slow in any way or form.
     
  20. UL2RA macrumors 6502a

    UL2RA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #20
    If they're using Windows 10, yes. That's one of my favorite features of Windows 10.

    BitDefender and Kaspersky are what I generally recommend.
     
  21. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    Will more ram improve the graphics performance on the MacBook?
     
  22. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #22
    No, the dGPU uses its own ram, and if you have an iGPU equipped MBP, then the ram is a set amount regardless of how much is installed.
     
  23. eviljack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #23
    With the XPS 15 you can get the model with 8GB ram and upgrade it later down the track if you need it. There are lots of Youtube videos and guides on the internet to do it. It is not soldered in unlike the Macbook. With the Macbook you are stuck with the spec you buy.
     

Share This Page