Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

50L

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 2, 2014
Going to buy the Macbook Pro M3 pro 2TB 18GB or 36GB

I'm a fulltime photographer, mostly using Lightroom and Photoshop, sometimes also editing 4K video in FCP

So, do I need 18GB or 36GB, I have no idea, i'm now using an imac with 48GB ram

HobeSoundDarryl

macrumors G5
For photography, probably not. For video editing, the general rule of thumb is: the more RAM the better.

If you have a complicated project and it needs a lot of RAM, Silicon Mac will use SWAP instead (which is basically trying to use the internal storage like not-quite-as-fast RAM). It is debatable if using it in this way will wear it out sooner than life of device. Fans will argue that it will be fine but all objective material will generally discourage writing too frequently to SSDs. You may be fine using SWAP or you may not- only time will tell. Nobody here knows for sure either.

If you can afford the extra RAM, get it to minimize the SWAP scenario for your potential uses. If all 4K editing is simple & small projects and/or not that frequent, you may be fine leaning on 18GB and using some SWAP if needed. SWAP usage may never turn out to be a problem, but if it does, you don't have any options other than replacing the entire Mac.

It is how you will use THIS Mac throughout the time that you will have it that answers your question. Since you can't fully know yourself, all you can do is best guess how taxing- or not- your future uses will be. With Silicon, there's no RAM or (internal) SSD upgrades/replacements in the future. So you basically buy for uses that are potentially years from now when you'll be looking to do who knows what with this Mac.