Do I need a Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yaoyx531, Feb 17, 2015.

  1. yaoyx531 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    #1
    I just got this admission for a PhD program, and I'm looking for a new machine that can hold me for the next five years. What I will be doing on this machine include programming, large scale data analysis(TB-level), data visualization(high resolution, 2D & 3D). Besides, I did some video editing with Final Cut Pro, but not frequently. One thing I do need is big RAM. I can go up to $4000, but I'm not sure whether I need a mac pro for what I do.

    A high end 5k imac is also a good choice for me, but I'm worried that it won't hold me for the next five years. I'm a student. I can get a very good machine now, but I can't afford another one at least before graduation.

    Thank you all!
     
  2. SystemHasFailed macrumors member

    SystemHasFailed

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #2
    Do I need a Mac Pro?

    Personally speaking I get about 7 years out of my Mac Pros before I wear them out or need something faster. And I do many of the same things you're describing.

    I get about 3-4 out of my MBPs. Your mileage may vary of course.
     
  3. Natzoo macrumors 65816

    Natzoo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Not sure where i am
    #3
    If you get a mac pro you get to pay an extra (1k for apple) for a monitor. It just depends on the type of user you are. A Mac pro is extremely fast just with the base model. A retina 5k iMac is good too. If you are going to do video editing "programming, large scale data analysis(TB-level), data visualization(high resolution, 2D & 3D). Besides, I did some video editing with Final Cut Pro, but not frequently. One thing I do need is big RAM. " Get a mac pro and if you spend at least 4k it will last over 5 years. Hence, get a mac pro if you don't mind paying extra for a monitor

    ----------

    Also if you want to save money, buy the ram separate. I mean don't get the ram upgrade because its really easy to buy ram online and install it yourself
     
  4. yaoyx531 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    #4
    Thank you! That's good to know.

    ----------

    Thank you for the response! I actually already have a screen to use. Then I think I will go with a Mac Pro. I have heard that on the MP, you have to use four same RAM, is that correct? That is to say, if I want to upgrade the ram, I will have to buy four same one, and swap them all at once?

    Thank you!:)
     
  5. BenFromPerth23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    #5
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but Mac Pro might be a better option. You can upgrade components if it's not meeting your requirements in a few years, so for a few hundred dollars you can have a "new machine" every two...

    Also, there's no need at all to spend that $1000 on an apple screen. If you aren't doing color critical work, most screens in the $00-$600 range should be fine. In fact. Dell make a screen that uses the exact same Panel that Apple uses. If you DO need color a critical screen, Apple isn't your best bet there either.... you'll probably want to go with an Eizo or NEC.
     
  6. yaoyx531 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    #6
    Thanks for the response! I agree. I think I'm going to go with the Mac Pro with 6-core standard but with a 32G RAM. I'm not very sensitive to color so I think my current LG screen will work. I don't care about the storage very much since I can always get an external drive. Thank you!
     

Share This Page