Do I need a new a Mac?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by TJFord, Feb 5, 2014.

1. TJFord macrumors newbie

Hello friends.

I am not an expert in computers so I do need your advice if ye be so kind :)

I have been dedicated to music production from the last three years. The things are going great, but I starting to have annoying problemas with Logic Pro.

I use a Macbook Pro 13.3 Core I7 2.8 Ghz 8gb Ram. I'm using Logic Pro with about 500 plugins and 40 virtual instruments. I used four audio tracks, but now I'm using 40 audio tracks with audio and virtual instruments, and Logic is crashing everytime.

The problem is that a lot of plugins were installed in a music production school and I will have to lose them all. Because there is no way to make a backup of them, true?

So, what kind of hardware would I need to buy to run Logic without annoying crashes? My maximum budget would be like 2500-2700 dollars.

Some people is telling me to buy Windows pc with that budget, but I really want to keep using Logic Pro.

Thank you.

2. Destroysall macrumors 65816

Destroysall

Why not upgrade your RAM to 16gb. That should help plenty and could solve your issue with Logic crashing. Another thing that might also help would be to upgrade your storage. I don't know if you installed an SSD or not, but that could considerably help as well.

3. t434 macrumors newbie

Just upgrade the RAM

Sidenote - Just curious, if you mind me asking, what music production school do you go to?

4. barkmonster, Feb 5, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2014

barkmonster macrumors 68020

barkmonster