Do I need a new Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by softwareguy256, Oct 13, 2011.

1. softwareguy256 macrumors regular

I am a daytrader and software developer. I have a white macbook 2 ghz core2 duo with 4 gb ram. I'm thinking about going "pro." From experience will a top end macbook pro 17'' with 16 GB RAM give a major speed boost for the following usage?:

3 external monitors 1 Mini DVI + 2 diamond USB adapters 21'' screens minimum 1680x1050
    several java trading clients
    Windows parallels with yet another trading client
    multiple browsers
    XCode Interface bulder
    Safari, email, skype, ichat, etc...

Since a new macbook pro would cost me well over $3000, I would only buy if I get no stutter no beachballs etc... Otherwise I'll keep my existing setup, which is slow but somewhat sufficient. How low can I go with a tradein?

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

With all these external monitors, I'd just get a Mac Pro instead. It doesn't sound like something you would be moving around much. The Mac Pro make more sense in this case and it would put you well into $4000 for a MacBook Pro, you might be better off with the Mac Pro and get better performance out of it.

3. softwareguy256 thread starter macrumors regular

Actually, mobility is important and I do travel occasionally and proud to say that I have never missed a market day in the past year. Even when "stationary", I move around quite a bit like when making lunch answering the door...

I think the macbook pro is the only option for me, I just don't want to fork over a significant amount of cash and still be getting beach balls or stutter.

4. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

AkuskaUK

If portability is what you need, you have answered the question yourself, Go MBP :D

5. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

If mobility is important you should have bought the MacBook Pro already, not asking on a forum if it's a good idea (seeing you really have any other options).

Good luck