Do I need a TB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by databody, Dec 24, 2013.

1. databody, Dec 24, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2013

databody macrumors newbie

Hi MacRumors-ites:

I'm aware this isn't the only thread on this general topic, but I'd like to get your input on this particular situation.

I'm deciding between getting a retina MBP with 16 GB RAM and a 2.3Ghz CPU (unless someone tells me otherwise) and either 512 GB or 1 TB.

I'm a grad student and am purchasing because my last tea spill became the last straw in my long haul with my current old mac (a 2007 2.4 C2D MBP).

I've taxed my current machine's small and by today's standards slow 150GB hard drive with about 200 GB of data (much of it now on a Time Capsule) and space was my main problem to deal with with this mac (the reason I got the Time Capsule).

I want to move my 200GB of material (70 GB itunes, 40 GB aperture, apps and work/school documents for the rest) straight onto my new machine and have room to "grow" in the next few years: I photograph and store entire 500pg/historical books to photocopy them making my own digital archives on a weekly basis; I plan to get more into photography as a hobby as well; I want to keep the option of doing semi-professional ("grad school quality") documentaries open--but I don't actually do those yet. As a student/academic I do a lot of long 2-400 pg writing/theses and I like to be able to have 1 million internet tabs and PDF books/papers (some of them very cumbersome, poorly digitized 1-200MB "text" files) open along with my aperture library with my photo-archived books so I can juxtapose many different materials and ultimately combine them into what I write.