Do I need a wired mouse for first time boot?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by B1ueB1aze, Sep 28, 2014.

  1. B1ueB1aze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #1
    This is probably a silly question, but will I need a wired mouse to setup my new Mac Pro? It is the new 2013 Mac Pro. Or, will I be able to go through the first time boot with a wireless Magic Mouse? The reason I'm asking this is since the Mac Pro doesn't come with a keyboard or mouse, is it any different then say an iMac when it comes to using wireless peripherals to set it up?

    Thank you
     
  2. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #2
    Hi, if it is an Apple wireless mouse then I see no problem. You may need to un-pair the mouse from the iMac though.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Wireless will work fine. You will get the BT pairing dialogue when you boot.
     
  4. BurgDog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #4
    Wireless only is all supposed to work in theory – it didn't work for me though and I had to use a wired keyboard and mouse to set up my system.

    Part of the problem for me it that when it came time to pair my bluetooth trackpad and keyboard they tried to pair with my wife's iMac instead of my Mac Pro and the Mac Pro never saw them. I just gave up and used wired as I had them available. After everything was set up I had no trouble pairing my Bluetooth stuff.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    I always keep an old wired mouse in a drawer close by in case my Microsoft wireless laser mouse doesn't pair.

    Comes in handy.

    Lou
     
  6. B1ueB1aze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #6
    Alright thanks. I'm going to use a wired keyboard, but I'm going to get a new Magic Mouse to use with it. So, even with the wired keyboard connected I should be able to pair the new Magic Mouse with it? As I don't feel like looking around the house for a long lost wired mouse. :p
     
  7. BurgDog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #7
    I got an "AmazonBasics 3-Button USB Wired Mouse" currently selling for $6.99 as my backup. I've had to use it a couple of times to get around Bluetooth issues I've had on every one of the 3 Macs in my house at various times – glad I have it. I leave it wired in to a spare USB2 port on my Thunderbolt display. It is also nice to have for stuff the trackpad makes hard to do and for gaming.

    Of course a lot of my Bluetooth issues may be because I have 3 Macs all using Bluetooth. New devices seem to always want to pair with the wrong Mac for some perverse reason.
     
  8. B1ueB1aze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #8
    Alright, I just asked Apple about it, and they said using my USB mechanical keyboard and the Magic Mouse to set up the Mac Pro should work fine. I'll try it out once everything arrives, and if I run into an issue; I'll just have to get a USB mouse.

    Thanks everyone
     
  9. Earl Urly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #9
    I always keep an original Apple USB Keyboard and wired Apple mouse with the annoying teatball to boot machines because I read that that's what the built-in firmware has drivers for.

    If you work as a Genius somewhere it's supposedly mentioned in the docs for Apple's diagnostic programs.
     
  10. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #10
    My refurbished MP 5,1 came with Magic Mouse, and the bluetooth keyboard (US). Before first boot, I simply changed the US keyboard with a danish.
    Got guided through the set-up without any problems.

    I didn´t know it would work, hence I had a spare USB keyboard and mice standing by, but never used it.
     
  11. B1ueB1aze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #11
    Hey,

    Just wanted to let you know that the Magic Mouse worked without an issue during setup!

    Thanks everyone
     

Share This Page