Do I need an external firewall?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GilesM, Nov 12, 2008.

  1. GilesM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    On both my iMac's I have the firewall enabled and the stealth mode enabled.
    Is there anything to be gained by purchasing a hardware firewall (as supplied by netgear, Cisco, Draytek etc.) to place between the iMac's and the Cable Router ?

    Does an extra layer of security help or hinder ?
     
  2. ebel3003 macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #2
    In few words: Not really, no.

    Sure, if you're super paranoid, then it's not going to hurt. It's probably unnecessary, though, as your router kind of acts like a hardware firewall on its own.
     
  3. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    most routers already have a firewall these days which is more than enough.
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    no please don't!!!

    they cause more negatives then they do positives.
     
  5. GilesM thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #5
    thank you for your replies

    After reading the replies, I think I will not be adding a new firewall to my network.
    Thanks for the advice.
     

Share This Page