Do I need an Intel based Mac to use PwnageTool 3.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by RDL, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. RDL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Harlem World USA
    #1
    I just read on another site a comment from a user who claims PwnageTool 3.0 only works on Intel based Macs. I have an iBook G4.

    I have a 2G iPhone running on 2.2 firmware. I used Pwnage to unlock/jailbreak it and now would like to upgrade to 3.0. I have yet to even update to my iTunes to 8.2 (I'm still on 7.7) because I'm reading you have to have it to upgrade to 3.0 but then another site says do NOT update to 8.2.

    I'm confused by all the conflicting information.

    Could someone please let me know if I can use Pwnage on my iBook (no Intel)
    and why some sites are saying do nOT upgrade iTunes to 8.2?

    I appreciate any information someone who knows more than me can provide. Thanks!
     
  2. Digitalflick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    #2
    For me it did not work on my PPC G4 (app Kept crashing). It did work on my Intel Imac. Both 8.2 itunes.
     
  3. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #3
    Hmm, it worked fine on my iBook G3 900 MHz... :confused:

    I didn't go all through the process yet though, just the beginning. But all seems fine. You have to run it inside the disk image (don't drag it out then run it, there's some weird permissions thing going on)
     
  4. RDL thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Harlem World USA
    #4
    I got it to open fine but the problem with non Intel Macs is suppose to occur when you actually start building the custom build.

    I thought the Dev Team would have posted that it only worked with Intel Macs and not say it works for "Macs". I'd say more people have non Intel Macs than not but I could be wrong. Either way I'm trying to find out whats going on.
     
  5. dranakin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #5
    Yeah, redsn0w also doesn't work with PPC. Guess we'll have to wait (though I suppose this could be the motivator to get a new Macbook...;))
     

Share This Page