Do i need anti virus software on windows that i am running in Parallel on Mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iMacBoy, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. iMacBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #1
    Do i need anti virus software on windows that i am running in Parallel on Mac?

    Could i get a virus on windows xp that i am running on the application 'Parallels' on my Mac?

    Thanks
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
  3. iMacBoy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #3
    Cheers mate can i use something like AVG instead?
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Yes, you can, but MSE works well

    AVG
    Avira
    Etc

    But Microsoft Security Essentials is really all you will need
     
  5. iMacBoy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #5
    Cheers, just one more question, can i use my xp cd that i have from my old dell to install on parallel or do i need a new copy?
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    You will get mixed answers on that... and possibly mixed results
    Some have had success, and others have not
    I has to be SP2 I believe or higher, and it may be specific to your machine
     
  7. iMacBoy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #7
    Okay thanks i give it a go.
     

Share This Page