do i need bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by shiunn, May 29, 2007.

  1. shiunn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #1
    hi ppl,
    I have a macbook, and my hdd has two partitions, both of which are mac os extended journaled. one of partitions are basically empty. i tried to run bootcamp and it says "the startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition". so what can i do? do i need bootcamp to install vista? or can i just insert the dvd in and restart from it?
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    Why have you already got two partitions? If you want to use boot camp use the boot camp assistant to partition the drive for you. Then just follow the instructions.
     
  3. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #3
    Open Disk Utilities and erase the other partition. Then run bootcamp or if you format the other partition to MSDOS(i.e FAT32) then you can just boot of the install DVD and install Vista.
     
  4. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #4
    oh, i should have mentioned. i made the two partitions myself when i bought a new hdd for the macbook.
    so, what is bootcamp? is it just a collection of drivers for xp/vista?
    how do i proceed now? just make the installation myself?
     
  5. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #5
    ok, will give it a try. so, just restart into the vista dvd huh?
     
  6. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #6
    Boot camp enables you to repartition your hard drive (non destructively) and also is a collection of drivers for windows.

    Why don't you just select the second partition (the one you made) in the boot camp assistant and tell it to use 100% of that partition (this will delete everything on the partition when you install windows)? Then it will just ask you to burn a driver CD and you are good to go.
     
  7. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7
    Bootcamp is basically a graphical partition tool which helps you to resize the main partition so that you can install windows. It also helps to get rid of or mask the EFI partition or something like that. I can't really remember. But you can still go through the steps to install Vista.

    Haha, crap.... Crom beat me to it again :p
     
  8. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    It emulates a BIOS as macs use EFI which is incompatible with windows. At least that is my understanding.
     
  9. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #9
    Cromulent: I can't even get the bootcamp assistant to get going beyond the "the startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition."

    and now, disk utility won't let me format my second partition to fat32. i've only the option of macos extended/ journaled
     
  10. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #10
    hey ppl,
    bad news, i can't install vista. i've got to formatting my 2nd partition to ntfs, but then, it still says that windows can't install. the hdd is of gpt partition style.
    what should i do?
     
  11. onebloodonelife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #11
    According to the Boot Camp Setup Guide, you can't install Windows until you restore the disk to a single partition OS X volume. Once you do that, you should be good to go.
     
  12. shiunn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #12
    managed to do it last night. thanks!
    funny thing is, when re-partitioning, i chose to take out 30gb for the windows partition, and somewhere down the line while bootcamp was trying to partiton my hdd, something went wrong. so i take the size down to 29gb and was good to go. i realised i'm not the only one with this problem.

    but anyway, i've got the best of both worlds now. vista looks really nice. although i've not explored enough, i must say the windows media centre is much better than osx's front row. and its photo gallery can "watch folder", where iphoto can't. nice os!
     

Share This Page