Do I need Extender, Access Point or Router ?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by GPap, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. GPap macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #1
    Hello,
    I'm watching TV via IPTV device with an Ethernet Adapter ( dual band - 450Mbps each ).
    I don't have good image quality ( I suspect every Adapter's port can send 100Mbps ) and I read that in case to have the best quality I need to connect the IPTV device directly to Modem/Router via cable. Because I cannot do that ( different rooms ), is there any device which can help me such as Extender, Access Point or just Router ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. hobowankenobi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    on the land line mr. smith.
    #2
    If you want to stay wired, and don't want to—or can't—pull cable to where you need it, one option is something like this: Powerline Kit.

    Plug one into a wall socket by your switch/router, and plug another in by your TV. They use the AC wire in the wall to carry data. Usually work very well. Lots of brand and models to choose from...
     
  3. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #3
    Thank you very much,
    I'll go for the Powerline then ( and not for Access Point or Router ).
     
  4. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    No longer logging into MR
    #4
    I recommend the TP-Link AV2000. It even offers a pass-through outlet so you can use it for your TV or other electronics. This helps as you want the powerline adapter plugged directly into the wall and not into a UPS or surge protector.
     
  5. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #5
    One more thing please : Should I choose the simple Powerline kit or the Wi-Fi Powerline kit ?
     
  6. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    No longer logging into MR
    #6
    WiFi Powerline kits are wireless access points too, so when you plug it in there is WiFi already there. Personally, I went for the simple kit so I can choose my WiFi devices. I'm not a fan of bundling gear like that, but I'm a geek too. :)
     
  7. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #7
    Is it possible the Powerline to affect my Internet speed ?
    Because I have a very strong connection right now and I don't want changes :)
     
  8. hobowankenobi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    on the land line mr. smith.
    #8
    Generally speaking folks are happy with powerline setups and performance. Barring issues, it should be at least as fast as a great wireless network.

    As I recall one limitation is if a house/building has two or more different electrical systems with different circuit breaker panels. Not an issue for most homes.
     
  9. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    Not, not from the router to the internet. The power line provides ethernet between the two adapters only, doesn't impact your coax or DSL performance. Powerline adapters work best when on the same circuit, not crossing circuit breakers. Performance between the two adapters may suffer if they are on different circuits, but will probably be sufficient.

    Streaming video generally won't even use a full 100Mbps, that is why Apple TV 4 and earlier only had 100Mbps interfaces. ATV5 added 1Gbps ethernet, probably because 4K video will use more bandwidth, but more likely because it is fast becoming the standard.

    It is also possible your ISP service is not adequate for the IPTV solution. Network speeds will never be any faster than the slowest span in the network. So, if ISP is 5Mbps, and local Ethernet and\or WiFi is 100Mbps+, the fastest you would see for internet speeds is the 5Mbps from the ISP link. Use Speedtest.net to measure your speeds when connected direct with the router to get a good sense of what speeds you are getting.
     
  10. GPap thread starter macrumors regular

    GPap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #10
    I searched a little for compare tests between Gigabit Ethernet connection and Powerline 1200 which I purchased finally.
    I see huge differences, Ethernet wins in every test. And I'm not sure if Powerline will works with no lugs or choppy-pixelated image at 1080i in my IPTV device, I hope it will.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 20, 2017 ---

    For now I'm using an Ethernet adapter N900, dual band, 450 Mbps each but I saw in my router said 100M/full. My image is not good, I believe in Powerline :)
    I have an IPTV device which gets the signal from my Set Top-Box in my local network. I just type in VLC the address http://192.168.x.x:port/hdmi and I have picture.
    In short, it is not IPTV service. My Set Top-Box gets the signal from Satellite and then my IPTV device produces H265 video output.

    Big thanks to all of you guys.
     
  11. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    1080i will use far less than 100Mbps, so if you are at least getting something close to that through power line, should be OK.
     
  12. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Location:
    No longer logging into MR
    #12
    Many newer powerline kits can utilize more than two adapters. Mine can go to 8 adapters and they function like a switch.

    For what it is worth, I can receive about 250Mb across breakers. Running it across breakers, longer lengths of cable, and/or crossing GFCI/AFCI breakers or outlets will worsen the performance. I get 550Mb connection when on the same circuit but crossing a GFCI outlet.

    Either way, it should be enough, but everyone's configuration is different so it's trial and error.
    I really wish everything was gigabit. It auto-negotiates much better than Fast Ethernet ever did.
     

Share This Page

11 September 19, 2017