Do I need more memory?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by HE15MAN, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. HE15MAN macrumors 6502a

    HE15MAN

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Florida's Treasure Coast
    #1
    How do I find out the max amount my iMac can take?

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    [​IMG]

    If you look at this screen in system profiler it will show what you now have installed.
     
  4. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #5
    What's your uptime? I don't think I've ever seen a VM size of 142 GB!
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    My VM is 223GB with uptime of two days.
     
  6. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    My VM is currently 182.74 with an uptime of 2hrs... did an update earlier.

    Your page outs are very high compared to your page ins.

    I see your using Aperture... that like a lot of RAM so it would help to max it out.
     
  7. MacForScience, Mar 12, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011

    MacForScience macrumors 6502

    MacForScience

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...24-inch-aluminum-early-2008-penryn-specs.html

    This will tell you how much you can put in. If you use aperture a lot or do image work you should max it out with a total of 6GB especially since you are using DDR2 memory.

    As to the question of do you need more it comes down to three factors:
    1.) Page-Ins to Page-Outs (if your page-outs exceed the page-ins then you need more memory)
    2.) Do you have the money?
    3.) What you use the computer for

    Cheers
     
  8. HE15MAN thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HE15MAN

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Florida's Treasure Coast
    #9
    It was a few hours
     

Share This Page