Do I need more Memory

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lloyd Christmas, Oct 26, 2009.

1. Lloyd Christmas macrumors regular

My MBP has been on for 5 days and 15 hours. Im somewhat new to macs and was wondering if someone could explain to me what page in and page out means. istat says that i have 610,716 page ins and 717,153 page outs. what does that mean. Would this have something to do with my mbp beachballing constantly. I did a clean install after using time machine to back my stuff up but it keeps happening. Thanks Lloyd

2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

How much memory do you have?

With that many page swaps, you definitely need more RAM.

3. Lloyd Christmas thread starter macrumors regular

I only have 2 gigs.

4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

What are you using it for?

EDIT: Here's my info, with an uptime of more than 9 days.

Attached Files:

5. Lloyd Christmas thread starter macrumors regular

im not using it for anything special. mostly listening to music and watching movies on it. Just basic computer stuff that is not taxing on the machine. sounding like i need to invest in some memory from crucial. could something else be wrong with my machine? Lloyd

6. RDM3 macrumors regular

RAM is so cheap there is no reason not to max it out.

7. reallynotnick macrumors 6502a

Are those numbers from activity monitor? Usually that gives it in MB or god forbid GB.
    Basically my pages out stay under about 10MB because I never max out my RAM, which I have 4GB of. If you are having 100s of MBs+ of pages out you will definitely want to look into at least upgrading to 4GB, it's dirt cheap.

8. Lloyd Christmas thread starter macrumors regular

i got my page in/outs from istat. what would cause my memory from being maxed out. i think i dont tax my machine very hard. Lloyd

9. Azathoth macrumors 6502a