Do i need more Ram For my 2010 i7 imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by drexl5, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. drexl5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #1
    Im a hobby video editor that uses Sony Vegas via boot camp (Cant wait to try the new final Cut though) to edit 13.5 CBR avchd and h.264 video files. Last night I kicked up the rendering of a 9 minute video with some Color Correction and the Video took about 1 hour and 30 mins. that seems way too long for this powerful of a computer??? The Specs of the Imac are stock. Should I purchase more ram? Any other Suggestions?
     
  2. ZeD X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #2
    I am not sure, but I think that more ram will barely helps.

    You need to verify if your swap increases when are you doing this job. If increases, then it will make your iMac more powerful to do this again.
     
  3. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    Ram isn't going to do anything about shortening video transcoding time. That's purely cpu and the efficiency of the codec/filters you're using. Btw h264 is a very advanced codec that needs lots of cpu prowess, that time sounds pretty decent especially if what you're editing is hd resolution.
     
  4. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #4
    you should have checked what the RAM utilization was during rendering
     
  5. archer75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    what he said
     

Share This Page