Do I need more than 8800GT in 2008 mac pro to handle lightroom?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kudukudu, Sep 26, 2014.

  1. kudukudu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    I've got one of the 4 core early 2008 mac pro with 8800GT and 10 MB RAM with SSD as a boot drive for applications (okay at one time this sounded pretty impressive :) Anyway, I just got a nikon d800 and since a) imovie can't import movies from a D800, b) Aperture has been discontinued, I decided to make the move to lightroom for both pictures and video. The program seems a little sluggish compared to Aperture. Would improving the video card make a difference or do I just need to face reality regarding the age of my mac pro?
     
  2. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #2
    Lightroom doesn't care, because it doesn't directly leverage any gpu framework. Your bottleneck is elsewhere. It could be any number of things, but it's not a gpu issue. It taxes your gpu about as much as safari or firefox.
     
  3. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    THink you might need more RAM. Look at Activity monitor and see how RAM is being used, and if any page ins and outs.. A larger SSD would help - esp apportioning a section of it as scratch disk...
     
  4. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #4
    As far as I can recall, only PhotoShop used scratch-disk.
     
  5. Derekm15 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    #5
    I have a D800E as well as a Mac pro 2008 I'm in the same boat as you debating what the best route is for an upgrade.
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    8800GT is enough for LR as previous posters said. In general it goes in this order: CPU, RAM, SSD. You can't do much with first in 2008, so focus on second and third. You may also want to check this arstechnica thread out.
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    When I had a 2008 3.1 Mac Pro, using Lightroom ran just fine without any sluggishness. My GPU was Nvidia 285gtx with 12g ram and just HD platter drives. I regularly do some maintenance like using Disk Warrior to regularly fix HD directories, Drive Genius to defrag and doing a clean install of the OS. You may want to try doing a clean install of the OS.
     
  8. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #8
    Nope. I have that machine and that GPU, it is fine.
     

Share This Page