Do I need shcool to be a video editor?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by FCP1223, Jun 20, 2010.

1. FCP1223 macrumors newbie

I bought FCP in December and have been ripping DVD's and editing them. I dont have any good schools out here and so far have self taught myself. Do you really need school to be a professional editor? I play on opening my own business anyway so I doubt it but just wanted to get some opinions.

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

No, you don't, if you're really, really good.

And it also depends on what kind of video editing you have your eyes set.

Local television has other standards than national television for example.

So what kind of business do you want to open and for what kind of field and market do you want to edit?

3. FCP1223 thread starter macrumors newbie

My friend is a Graphic Designer and does web pages and things in that sort. I want to edit videos such as weddings, home videos, exc. We are going to open one together.

4. scwinsett macrumors 6502a

scwinsett

I am a videographer and editor for a certain website, and I dropped out of film school. I found it to be a waste of time. But that is just me, and I already knew how to edit! If you do not know how to use Avid, Final Cut Pro, etc, you should take some classes at a local art school. they usually have software-specific night classes

5. ryanvalle macrumors member

Short answer: no you don't need school to become a video editor. I started doing professional video editing when I was still in high school.

However, I see only two ways of becoming successful in video editing (or in any business actually). One, you either have to know the right people, or two, have the experience that will make people want you.

I got lucky and went with route number one, getting hired by a production company as an editor through a friend's dad.