Do I need the i7?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gentleman00, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. gentleman00 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #1
    I am not planning to use the imac for gaming, photoshopping, or use of other large applications. I am primarily going to be using the imac for word processing, internet surfing, iphotos, ichating, etc. Do I need the i7 or can I live without it and opt for the basic model?
     
  2. cmaier macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    For your stated purposes the i5 is more than fine.
     
  3. gentleman00 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #3
    Isn't the intel 2 Duo the basic model?:confused:

     
  4. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    A lot of people want to get the latest technology toys, so they get the one with the newest chip in it.
     
  5. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #5
    Yes, and it would more than cover your needs. There is no sense in spending the extra money for a quad-core.

    Bryan
     
  6. cmaier macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #6
    also more than fine.
     
  7. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #7
    You are forgetting everyone is also a professional who uses multi-threaded software on a daily basis. :rolleyes:
     
  8. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    You don't even need an i5, just get the baseline 21.5 inch model.

    The desktop-grade core2duos in these new iMacs are blazing fast.
     
  9. RexTraverse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #9
    If that's all, a Core Solo Mac mini would be fine. Don't worry about the processor and just get whatever has the features you actually care about at the lowest price.
     
  10. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    The i5 will be fine. You could do what your going to do fine on a baseline MacBook lol:D
     
  11. nawoo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
  12. gjw4u macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #12
    OP, if $ is not an issue, you can allways go for the i5 or i7 iMacs, but the C2D would also do the things you specified, and you could save some $.
     
  13. mtnDewFTW macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    You really don't need i7.
    i5 should be more than enough for you.
     
  14. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    What the others have said. The i5 would be more than enough if your just going to browse the web, check emails etc.
     
  15. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #15
    Alot of folks are saying the i5 would be more than enough. I'd like to stress that the baseline C2D would be more than enough...

    Save some money.

    Bryan
     
  16. jvalente macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  17. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa

Share This Page