Do I need to buy lion

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by paulkerdot, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. paulkerdot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #1
    If I buy a new air with lion already installed, do I need to buy lion from the app store for my iMac or can I use the USB stick from the air?
     
  2. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #2
    No, if it already has lion installed, you don't have to buy it from the app store.
     
  3. questioner76 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    #3
    I had the same question. If we buy the new macbook airs with Lion, will we still need to buy Lion for our other Macs?
     
  4. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #4
    Whoops, didn't read this carefully enough. I didn't catch the 'for my iMac' part.

    Change that answer to 'I don't know.' You may have to tell us if it works.

    But even if you do, $30 for multiple downloads of an OS isn't that hard of a pill to swallow.
     
  5. artivideo.nl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Although Lion is cheap it would still be nice. However my stomache tells me it will not work. If one wants to try this do you first have to de-install SL first or you just overwrite SL with LION ????

     
  6. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #6
    What USB stick?
     
  7. Young Spade macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Florida
    #7
  8. Oppressed macrumors 65816

    Oppressed

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #8
    I have a feeling it will be like the iLife products. If they are pre installed on your mac then they won't appear on your mac app store account and might have to purchase them again for other computers.
     
  9. hcho3 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
  10. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #10
    if the new MBA is linked to your iTunes account and to your iMac both should get the updates.
     

Share This Page