Do I need to do anything before installing RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by c073186, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. c073186 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    I am installing new RAM in a PowerBook G4. Do I need to do anything in Mac OS besides backup files before installing the new RAM?
     
  2. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #2
    No...just make sure you ground yourself before you start working on it.
     
  3. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
    Profit off your old ram on ebay.

    That way you'll have time to test and be able to ship it out ASAP :)
     
  4. surferfromuk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #4
    remove any fluffy jumpers, nylon stockings and as suggested ground yourself or at least discharge yourself on the chassis - do not at any time touch the row of gold pins on the ram...
     
  5. honeycrisp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #5
    How do you ground yourself?
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Usually with an anti-static strap, but the easiest way is to touch the computer chassis before you touch the RAM.

    ---

    @OP: Use the proper tools. No you don't need to back up anything for a RAM upgrade.
     

Share This Page