Do i need to do this every time?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gusious, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #1
    Hi. I have a time capsule and i have it to be connected wirelessly with my MBP. I also have set it up so it can appear on my desktop. But when i open my MBP TC doesn't show up in the desktop.

    When i click on finder and enter my "Shared" then it appears.

    So my question is do i need to enter my "Shared" everytime so time capsule can backup normally every hour or not?
     
  2. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #2
    No you don't - It's all set in the Time-capsule Preference pane in the system preferences
     
  3. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
  4. jbinzer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #4
    Huh? - want to do the same :).

    Have MBP and use TC as timemachine, but have no Time Capsule entry in system preference?

    I can see TC in Shared though and connect through there?

    /Jonas
     
  5. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #5
    What do you mean when you say that you have no entry? When you go to Shared there you can connect to time capsule.

    The guy above said that i don't need to mount TC on my desktop to use it as TM so...
     
  6. jbinzer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #6
    I thought he meant a separate icon for time capsule in the system preferences.
    I'm not mounting TC in order to use it as TM just as you say.

    I realize now, that I need to go to sys.pref. -> shared. But how do you connect with TC from there as you say?

    Sorry if I sound newbie-like... but I am :)

    /J
     
  7. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #7
    No no you don't need to go to system prefs. When i said Shared i meant at the Finder window when you open it!
     
  8. jbinzer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #8
    Ah... I understand. Thanks.

    /J
     
  9. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #9
    Toolbox i think you are wrong...

    The reason is that when i unmounted TC and checked when the next backup was i saw that it didn't backup but when i mounted the drive it backed up normally.

    So i guess i'll have to mount time capsule every day if i want to backup...

    Sigh.......
     
  10. Perk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Location:
    Verona, Italia
    #10

    You've been to MIT?
     
  11. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #11
    No why?
     
  12. Perk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Location:
    Verona, Italia
    #12

    You're linking to their site. I thought you did.
     
  13. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #13
    Hahah!No but it's a very nice guide for people that don't like much unix....!:D
     

Share This Page