Do I need to pay $99 to install app to real iPhone device?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by say2paul, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. say2paul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    How can I install simple hello world application to my iPhone (real device)?

    Do I need to pay $99 to Apple?
     
  2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    You may need to look into AD HOC. You should be able to get some information on Apple's website.
     
  3. TripleJ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #3
    Yes, you do need to pay the $99 to install anything on an actual device.
    AFAIK know that includes the ad hoc method which isn't actually available until after you've paid :p
     
  4. say2paul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #4
    Thanks, but can I install the app I develop on the Jailbrake/unlocked iPhone?
     
  5. mccannmarc macrumors 6502

    mccannmarc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  6. mlady macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #6
  7. say2paul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #7
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    That'll only work for a jailbroken phone. If using SDK 2.1, you'll also need to edit /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/Info.plist and set PROVISIONING_PROFILE_ALLOWED and PROVISIONING_PROFILE_REQUIRED to NO.
     
  9. say2paul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #9
    Thanks, you people are really very nice!
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    You're just lucky because I decided to give it a go earlier today :)
     
  11. Pulkit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #11
    Hi mlady,

    Supposed I have an application which is working fine. I want to test it on real device or on simulator which is on a different machine then mine.

    How can I do that? Can you guide me?

    Pulkit
     
  12. mlady macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #12
    Hi, on that other machine you have to install SDK and copy over that app. Then if you want to test it on jailbreaked iPhone follow my guide and that should do it.
     
  13. say2paul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #13
    I tried the method suggested by you but still getting the following error:

    CodeSign error: no certificate found in keychain for code signing identity 'iPhone Developer'

    I wrote the following in the script editor (New Run Script Buildphase)
    Code:
    if [ "${PLATFORM_NAME}" == "iphoneos" ]; then
    platform=/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform
    allocate=${platform}/Developer/usr/bin/codesign_allocate
    export CODESIGN_ALLOCATE=${allocate}
    codesign -fs "iPhone developer" ${BUILT_PRODUCTS_DIR}/${WRAPPER_NAME}
    fi
    
    - Show environment variable in build log - marked as checked
    - Run Script only when installing - marked as unchecked

    Also, when I closed the script editor - it never asked me to save or run the script..?

    I think I am missing some step in between!

    Any help will be appreciated.
     
  14. mlady macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #14
    That's because you don't have certificate called "iPhone developer". You must first make a certificate. In my blog is a link to apple website where you can learn how to make it. And don't forget to call it iPhone developer.

    Yea, the script buildphase is ok, it never ask you for saving.


    Good luck wiv it!
     
  15. Pulkit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #15
    You mean first I do a build on my machine and then copy the .app file on that other machine, right?

    Also for building the application I should set the project configuration to "release", right?

    Actually the problem I facing is that I build the application setting the "Set Active Build Configuration" to "Release". But when I double on the application it just crashed. I want to open this application in the simulator so that I can test it.

    What are the other steps involved in this building and transffering the application on other machine?

    Please let me know if you know any guide that explain this building process to test on another machine or something similar.

    Thanks,
    Pulkit
     
  16. mlady macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #16
    NO actually you have to copy there whole project. Because then u cn simply test it thru Xcode. Otherwise if u copy there only .app you have to make an .ipa file from that and add it to ur jailbroken iPhone thru iTunes...

    Why do you need to test it on different machine in first place??
     
  17. Pulkit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #17
    Actually mLady the thing is. I am new to iPhone development earlier I use to develop Mac Applications. So, I created one iphone application which is working fine.

    Now as we do in Mac we create binary using build process setting the configuration to "release" and few other things and send that binary to anybody who is using Mac and wants to run my application.

    I did the samething here with my iPhone application. Now as soon as I click on the application Icon it crashes. I want that when I click on this icon it should open in simulator automatically.

    Testing on any other machine is not important for me. I just want that my application should open in simulator automatically as soon as I click on the icon.

    Thanks,
    Pulkit
     
  18. mlady macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #18
    Ok I get it. But unfortunately that doesn't work like that. U can only test it on Simulator thru Xcode I believe.

    If you are interested in distributing in a way as u do wiv Mac, u can only do on jailbreaked iPhones. You need to create .ipa file. Here is a link http://tungchingkai.blogspot.com/2008/09/how-do-you-create-ipa-file.html But before u do, u need to sign that app.
     
  19. liptonlover macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #19
    if I follow these steps, could I submit my app to the itunes store and it would work? I'm not about to do it but I'm curious :D
     
  20. Thaurin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #20
    No, it absolutely does not work that way as every iPhone that the application needs to run on has to be jailbroken to be able to run your app. Besides, Apple has to accept the submission to the App Store.
     
  21. say2paul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #21
    I got the certificate, what is the next. step..?

    Where to put this certificate?
     
  22. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #22
    Xcode should automatically detect it once you've created it. Are you still getting the same error message?
     
  23. Pulkit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #23
    Thanks mLady! I will see what I can do now!
     
  24. mlady macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #24
    Just follow the guide I have written. Or you getin any error?
     
  25. cemil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney, AU
    #25
    Hi guys,

    I just came across this thread and saw the suggestions....

    I've created my cert, added the build phase run script item, and edited my /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/info.plist file to change to two entries to NO.

    I also edited my info.plist file and added the req'd key "SignerIdentity", as a Value: "Apple iPhone OS Application Signing".

    Now, when I go to deploy, I get a 0xE800003A (Your mobile device has experienced an unexpected error, blah blah).

    I've looked this up and it looks like it means I don't have a provisioning profile - which makes sense, since I haven't been accepted as a Dev yet...

    Any suggestions? Obviously you guys have gotten around this? I'm on 2.1 jailbroken and running the 2.1 SDK.

    Thanks,
    Cemil
     

Share This Page