Do I need to switch on Firewall?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DRPTHPHN, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. DRPTHPHN macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #1
    I have had my firewall off since I got my 2011 MBP a few months ago and i'm concerned I may be putting my macbook at risk. I assume the fact its off as default that I may not need it.

    What do people think?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. Harmush macrumors 6502a

    Harmush

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool
  4. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Only if you're overly paranoid or if you (the user) are the problem.
     
  5. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #5
    I run that! just because i was a windows user forever... I feel naked without some kind of virus scanner running :rolleyes:
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    No, don't download that. Sophos is not recommended, as it can actually increase your Mac's vulnerability. You don't need any 3rd party antivirus software to protect Mac OS X from malware. Mac OS X 10.6 and later has built-in malware defenses. No viruses exist in the wild that can run on Mac OS X, and there never have been any, since it was released 10 years ago. The handful of trojans that exist can be easily avoided with some basic education, common sense and care in what software you install:
     
  7. sparky1499 macrumors regular

    sparky1499

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #7
    If you are behind a router at home, I wouldn't bother.

    The router will act as a firewall.
     
  8. fingerman macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Stockport, UK
    #8
    I was a Windows user for ages so quite paranoid re virus's, malware etc so enabled the Firewall (why isn't this enabled as default?) and that's in Mac wise.

    I haven't added any extra protection apart from Firewall/Antivirus within the Windows VMWare's

    So far so good :)
     
  9. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    hmm... Ive never turned mine on before...
    Never had a problem either.

    I started using Mac since 2001 and never used it before, still no virus.
    I dont even know if Firewall is going to do anything since there is no virus for Macs first of all.

    I run Norton Security Suite which I got from comcast for free so :p
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    That's because there has never been a Mac OS X virus in the wild.
    Firewalls don't serve the same purpose as anti-malware. Firewalls help prevent unauthorized access.
     
  11. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #11
    how can you make your computer more vulnerable by enabling that?
     
  12. ATC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    I agree, although FWIW I read an internet security briefing document last week (wasn't Mac-specific) and in there were quite a few notes mentioning that the hardware firewall (what's in a router) can be complemented by the OS's own software firewall and they cite test results showing increased level of security having both enabled.

    I enable mine in OSX and haven't had any negative effects.
     
  13. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    Well, yeah, it's like being on the pill and still using condoms to avoid having a kid.
     
  14. ATC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    lol. Exactly, sometimes the pill doesn't work, the rubber saves the day. And vice versa.
     
  15. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    lol you just made my day thank you
     
  16. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #16
    If you read his informative link then it mentions why :

     
  17. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #17
    so if i wanted to do that, then how do i get rid of this one?
     
  18. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #18
    The most effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
     
  19. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #19
    I just turned on firewire for the first time but pretty annoying..

    OSX asks me if every single thing can connect or not...
    I turn on torrent, it asks me if it can connect.
    I turn on Steam, it asks me if it can.
    I play L4D2, it asks me if it can connect with my friends...

    Reminds me of windows security...
     
  20. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #20
    You probably have max security on or something... I'd clear the check box on the first option in your firewall Advanced settings, and check the bottom two, and check to make sure that the apps that are asking for your permission are all allowed in that box there.

    It really should only ask you once (but there have been instances, and I speak from experience with iTunes, that it kept asking me permission).
     
  21. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #21
    I just changed the settings on advanced and seems like 4 application was already on there with full permission (skype, torrent, Steam, L4D2).

    The top was unchecked automatically and the 2nd one was only checked so I checked the bottom 2.

    Thanks!
     
  22. DRPTHPHN thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
  23. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #23
    May cause issues with novice users.

    The configuration provided out of the box is fine, but it IS NOT the most security configuration that's possible. Apple has a guideline that folks can use ( Snow Leopard Security Configuration ) but it says right at the top that it will impact functionality for the sake of security.
     
  24. Harmush, Sep 5, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011

    Harmush macrumors 6502a

    Harmush

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #24
    1. How can enabling a security program (and one that is used by HUGE companies) increase venerability?

    2. I see nothing about anti-malware in 10.6 or above...

    3. Viruses for Mac do exist, your stupid to say there isn't any. (I am sure other will be able to find a more complete list)

    4. With Mac sales rising, you will see an increase in people trying to exploit them.

    Don't be naive now...
     
  25. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #25
    Xprotect

    I'd respond to the rest but it's more entertaining when GGJs delivers...


    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page