Do I need to upgrade my RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by evilweasel47, Oct 13, 2010.

1. evilweasel47 macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

Long time reader of the threads, first time posting a question. I have a Late 2009 MBP with 2gb RAM and 160gb HDD. The machine has been running sluggishly lately. I used to use Safari but due to some flash problems, I switched to Chrome. Found it was no better, so using FF now, which I found was the least sluggish among the lot. I currently have a dozen tabs in FF, Mail.app, Trillian, Skype and Tweetie open, which is the least load I put on my Mac. I checked out Activity Monitor now and this is what I found:

[​IMG]

Do I need to upgrade my RAM? I do a lot of programming, use Dreamweaver and Eclipse. I don't shut down my Mac often (current uptime is over 11 days). Please do keep in mind that I am a student, and funds are very limited. If there is a way by which I can put off my RAM upgrade until later, please do let me know. Thanks! :)

2. mulo macrumors 68020

mulo

Yeah you need to upgrade. 2gb is low for today's standards, even more so for what your doing!

Try OWC or newegg, I got my 8GB for under $200
    macsales.com
    newegg.com

3. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

rkaufmann87

4. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

AdamRock

you only have 2gb ram? atleast get 4GB, mac runs best when it has atleast 4GB of ram. also make sure to quit apps that you arent useing instead of just closing them

5. devilstrider macrumors 6502a

6. evilweasel47 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks everyone. I really appreciate it. A couple of questions more. :)

1. Most of you seem to suggest an upgrade to 8gb over 4gb. I don't think I can afford that much money right now. Should I just wait till I save up some more or just buy the 4gb kit? I don't think I will be running very memory intensive apps. I don't even use VMware.