Do I need to upgrade my RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aaron.lee2006, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    You decide... I am a photographer/graphic designer

    I have one of the original MBPs 1.83... It has 512 ram. Should I give her a nice upgrade to compete with all you C2Ders :p
     
  2. jhero macrumors 6502

    jhero

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Not near an Apple Store
    #2
    yes, the ram can come in handy later if you decide to resell or upgrade to a newer model

    basically, you won't be "choked" as much :] and it's relatively cheap to do it!
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
  4. aaron.lee2006 thread starter macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
  6. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    well, i guarantee you ll love yourself if you do even more..
     
  7. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #7
    when you run activity monitor, at the bottom where it says page ins/outs, if you have a lot of page outs, it means you don't have enough ram and you're having to access your hdd a lot unnecessarily. if it's less that about 3500 after using it awhile, you're probably ok with what you have.
     
  8. mattibek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    For photography?
    Just go for 2 x 1 Gb and have done with it.
    You will thank yourself every time you don't have that little "gulp" moment when the machine doesn't respond for a second or two -- just enough time to wonder if you've crashed it or not in the middle of your work...
     
  10. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #10
    damn it so does this mean that if i have a 27098/0 then i dont need any more rammmmmmm????
     
  11. marine610610 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #11

    Does this number continue to add up? I have not restarted the machine in prob 3 days so the numbers are high. 104947/71114 actually. Is this an indication of needing more RAM?
     
  12. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #12
    yes, that means you have enough ram to do what you normally do. unless you begin using apps that require more ram, it really won't help you to add ram.



    yes, the number is cumulative. try restarting the computer and using it for a couple hours under normal use with all your customary apps open and see what it says. every time the computer sleeps it does page-outs (writes memory to disk) whether you have enough ram or not.
     
  13. Treomaf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #13

    where do i check this at?? PB 12"
     
  14. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #14

    applications>utilities>activity monitor
     
  15. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #15
    Even if you were just some idiot who uses AIM and browses the web I'd say you need to upgrade. 512MB just isn't enough. Period.
     
  16. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #16
    rAmBaMtHaNkYaAm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  17. plux79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    #17
    How would you check if you had a memory leak?
    I just bought a C2D MBP and I had very little green section on the pie chart. I have to recheck it when I got home.
     
  18. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #18
    well, if you see it dripping out the sides, that's a pretty good indication.

    after i stop laughing at the image i've conjured...

    sorry, i can't figure it out. but... i'm still laughing.

    maybe hold a bowl under it to catch it or something!

    but, i think when it all leaks out you have to go buy more (i had an old ford that had a leak in the radiator and i always had to keep filling it up).

    It probably means most of your memory was used and is now inactive -- check the BLUE section for INACTIVE memory. either that or you're running too many apps and need to close some to free up memory. if the GREEN and BLUE are both just little slivers, then you definitely need more memory.

    check it after restart with no apps running and see what your pie chart looks like. then run it normally for awhile and check it again and look at your page-outs.
     
  19. TomGolden macrumors member

    TomGolden

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    El Dorado county, CA
    #19
    My MBP came with 1x1GB RAM, I just added a second 1GB DIMM to it last month from NewEgg. Right around $60 for the 1x1GB stick is what I paid. So for 2x1GB would cost you ~$120 :D
     

Share This Page