Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

erkanasu

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 11, 2006
Okay, im a noob.
I was about to install limewire ub, but remembered this thing use to be full of CRAP on the pc( lots of spyware). Do they carry this **** over to the mac versions? ohh i hate computers.
-Paul

Unorthodox

macrumors 65816
Mar 3, 2006
Not at the beach...
GimmeSlack12 said:
No need to worry about Spyware on Macs. At all. Case closed.
Oh, I disagree. But there's no program that will get ride of this type of spyware....
The only thing you can do is coverup your iSight.
Yep, Apple. They're using the built-in iSight to spy on there customers. :eek:

Matt W

macrumors newbie
Feb 27, 2006
Essex, England.
Hm I would like to temporarily re-open this case if thats OK!

Why is it that Mac owners are so confident that they don't need to worry about security at all? I can accept that they are more secure than PC's mostly due to the enhanced file security of Unix environments and the requirement of an Administrator password to do anything. But if the user enters their Administrator password when requested (in this case when installing Limewire) and the Limewire installer chooses to install the Limewire application along with some spyware there is nothing to stop that occuring right?

In my understanding so far, Mac security seems to rely on a certain amount of user knowledge in not providing the administrator password to malware coupled with the fact that currently less malware is directed towards Mac owners.

This isn't a critism of the original reply in any way and all of my assumptions above could be wrong but as I have moved from a PC that I went to a lot of effort to keep secure I would be interested to know more about Mac security.

yippy

macrumors 68020
Mar 14, 2004
Chicago, IL