Do I Qualify?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by J B, Nov 10, 2008.

1. J B macrumors member

:apple: Hi again, i have asked this question in one of my other posts but seeing as it is important, i though i would start a new thread.

I am a freshman in high school who will be going to college (i dont have any actual proof, but i am 99% positive that i will be going)
    A lot of people keep telling me to use my "student discount" but i never thought i qualified. (If it helps, my mom is a part time teacher at a private school but im not sure if it is under the edu discount, or if that is allowed for her to use her discount for my MacBook). All advice greatly appreciated!:apple:

p.s.~ please help me with my other posts
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=597452
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=596903

Thanks in advance!

2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

No, you do not qualify for the Ed discount, only college students.

I'm not sure how it would work for your mom, since she only works at the school part time.

3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

You do not technically qualify for the EDU discount until you are officially enrolled. Your acceptance letter may work though because honestly, I don't think they care much. In order for some sales rep to give me $100 off my MacBook on account of some "good deed" I did in the store to help another customer, he used my old school and gave me a discount that way. He actually used the school I graduated from in 2006, not the one I graduated from in 2008. Go figure. ;)

4. ghall macrumors 68040

ghall

I believe you need to be enrolled in a college at the time of purchase. I think it's kind of an honor system when you order online, but when you go to the store you need to present them with proof, like an ID or something.

5. Eric Noa macrumors 6502

Eric Noa