iPad Do I really need an iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by sim0n, Jun 20, 2013.

1. sim0n macrumors member

I have an iPhone 5 and a laptop and was recently going to purchase an iPad however money is tight at the moment as I'm a poor student. I really would love an iPad but after realistically thinking about this I do wonder what use would get out of an iPad that I can't get from my iPhone 5 or laptop? :confused:

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Only you can determine if you have a legitimate need for the iPad that justifies its purchase to your satisfaction. No one else can answer that for you.

3. PennCentralFan macrumors regular

PennCentralFan

If you want my opinion no. You can do everything an ipad can do on your phone and computer in all honesty. An ipad offers convenience and maybe a better gaming platform versus the iphone.

I got an ipad mini via work. I have my own iphone and my own mac book pro and I wouldn't buy one with my own money. Most other people I talk to who have an ipad and a phone and computer have told me that they don't really need an iPad.

If money is an issue don't buy one.

4. torana355 macrumors 68020

Everyone is different, personally i prefer my MBA over a Tablet, i have a Nexus 7 and an iPad 2 that basically never get used. I like the iMac - MBA - Nexus 4 combo. Tablets just don't do it for me.

5. sim0n thread starter macrumors member

Thanks guys I did have my heart set on one but suppose it isn't really necessary, these are the type of answers I was looking for to make myself feel better haha :p

6. bijanorama macrumors member

The iPad is a great media consumption device; the touch interface isn't great for doing work. I've written a couple of college papers on it, and it wasn't an experience I'd recommend. I did find myself reading much more (lying in bed) as it's great for PDFs and online browsing.