Do I Really Need to?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by niele, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. niele macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    hawaii
    #1
    I'm not sure if this is where to ask this question but ... I have a mbp 2.33 c2d and it works perfectly now. With all the problems I'm seeing others have with the 10.4.10 update, I'm wondering do I really need to? I have not even updated my itunes because I heard that had problems. I just want to hear what you all think. I'm thinking if it works why screw with it ... :confused:
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    no one is going to force you to.

    do a full backup before you do, and if you have issues. use the backup to restore your system.
     
  3. niele thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    hawaii
    #4
    so 50-50 huh? :D I know, I can't decide. All I know is I don't have that warm, fuzzy feeling about the updates yet and so I thinks I might wait ... thanks PlaceofDis and TheNakedMan for your input, much appreciated.
     
  4. polycat33 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #5
    Someone else asked a similar question a few days back and someone who responded had a very intelligent thing to say. While you may be seeing a lot of people complaining about issues they ran into with this upgrade, keep in mind that people are most likely to post when they are having troubles. The people who had a flawless upgrade have no reason to comment... I sure didn't think to come here and say "guess what? my computer is fine with 10.4.10!" So, take everyones problems with a grain of salt and remember that there are a LOT more people out there without any problems that just aren't saying anything.

    I for one have no had any problems.
     
  5. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #6
    Just curious,

    When I'm d/ling the updates to my 12" Powerbook, I usually make sure nothing is connected to it except for the power supply. If it were connected to my LCD or a USB hub do you think the update would somehow get screwy??

    Don't ask my why, but I've always done it that way. Call it years of Windows paranoia.
     
  6. niele thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    hawaii
    #7
    Good point, I'll keep that in mind:rolleyes:
     
  7. Foggy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Do you use wireless on battery power? If so I am not sure I would take the risk - I upgraded 2 laptops and neither of them work properly on wireless now unless they are plugged in.
     

Share This Page