Do laptop and external display resolution need to match to avoid resizing windows?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to Mac Hardware' started by hajime, Dec 16, 2018.

  1. hajime macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    Hi, my X1 Yoga Gen 3 has a WQHD internal display and my external TV is 4K. I found that I need to rescale the size of Windows and browsers often when dragging them back and forth across the two screens. I don’t recall clearly but I think I did not have to do such resizing when I was using a X1E with 4K internal display. Am I correct that if both laptop and external display have the same resolutions, there is no need for resizingas the mapping is 1:1. Otherwise, need to do the inconvenience of scaling.
     
  2. SDColorado Contributor

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #2
    That sounds about right. I can’t recall 100% from the X1E, but I believe that you are correct.
     
  3. hajime thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #3
    It is quite annoying. I had a browser full screen on the X1Y3. As I dragged it to the 4K screen, the browser window became very small. I had to adjust the size manually.

    If I get the SB2, I guess I will have the same problem.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Yes, as that's a function of windows
     
  5. AndyMacAndMic, Dec 17, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018

    AndyMacAndMic macrumors 6502a

    AndyMacAndMic

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #5
    Since it is a Windows function you can change that in the Windows settings:

    https://www.addictivetips.com/windo...olutions-for-multiple-monitors-in-windows-10/

    Hopefully that solves your problem.

    EDIT: On the link I provided only the article is interesting. On that page there is also an annoying link called "Download this tool to repair Windows problems & optimize system performance". This is a blatant advertisement for a tool you don't need.
     
  6. c0ppo macrumors 65816

    c0ppo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #6
    If you simply drag 'n' drop, you will have resizing issues. But if you use keyboard shortcuts (win key + shift + arrow), there won't be any issues at all.

    I was using KB shortcuts with x1c + sb2, and both behaved the same. Just use KB shortcuts, it's faster and easier anyway :)
     
  7. Queen6 macrumors 604

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Flying over the rainforest at dawn - Priceless
    #7
    As ever knowledge is power, and all the better for sharing :)

    Q-6
     

Share This Page

6 December 16, 2018