Do large storage drives work on older Macs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zoran, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Hello, i want to ask if there are any known compatibility issues concerning the mid 2010 corei7 iMac (one with FW800 port) and external drives over 1TB of capacity! I was told that older machines cannot handle more than 1TB of storage.
    I want to get one of those big ones (3/4TB with FW800 port) so i wanted to know if this is an issue or not!
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    There should be no problem. I think the issue was moreso many of the FireWire & USB cases of the day couldn't address bigger drives, but that's really a non-issue these days with a reputable external drive enclosure (if your going the DIY route).
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
  4. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #4
    It'll be fine. I have 2009 Macs that are regularly accessing storage way bigger than 4TB.

    The issue you're probably talking about (and were told a bit incorrectly about) is that there are 32-bit OSes and orating systems that have trouble with storage that's larger than 3TB or so. You're 2010 Core i7 is 64-bit, and so is the version of OS x running on it, so you should be fine.
     
  5. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    scaredpoet can you tell me which Mac OSes and Mac cpus were 32bit?
     
  6. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    Believe me (us), your 2010 iMac will handle it just fine. I have the same iMac sitting in my office right now (though presently not connected) and it's been connected to my 8TB RAID over FW800 with no issues at all.
     
  7. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    I don't recall exact details, but believe me when I say that you'd have to go back to something like 2005 before you'd start having trouble with stuff like this.
     
  8. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    8TB raid? What brand have you selected?
    Have you made any video file capturing through the FW800 port?
     
  9. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #9
    OWC Qx2 with 4x2TB Seagate Barracudas.

    I don't do any video capture, so I can't comment on that, but it will completely saturate the FW800 bus. Currently it's connected via eSATA (faster than FW800).
     
  10. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #10
    where have you connected the e-sata port to, the iMac dont have such a port, has it? :confused:
     
  11. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #11
    No, they do not. I use a LaCie eSATA Thunderbolt hub.
     
  12. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #12
    Snow Leopard is where you started to see 64-bit kernels, but many Macs except Xserves and mac pros still booted in mostly 32-bit mode (even even they had 64-bit processors). Lion was the first fully 64-bit version of OS X. If your Mac can run Lion or later, it's 64-bit.

    Processor-wise, Macs starting with the Intel Core 2 Duo processors were 64-bit. Intel Core Duo (no "2") and core solo were 32-bit.

    One interesting quirk: The PowerPC G5 processor was also 64-bit. So, for a short while, Apple regressed to 32-bit computing when switching to Intel.
     
  13. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #13
    How very vey interesting! Τhanx scaredpoet! ;)

    Let me ask one more thing, im on dilemma of selecting two large external drives
    myBookStudio4ΤΒ
    myBookStudio II 4TB
    what are their differences and which of the two would you recommend?
     
  14. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #14
    Two main differences:

    - The Studio II model is using 2 2TB drives linked in a RAID 0 configuration to get you 4TB of storage. The Studio model is using a single 4TB drive.

    - The Studio II has multiple interfaces: USB 2.0, Firewire and eSata. The Studio model is USB 3.0 only.

    To me, each has their strengths and weaknesses depending on your situation. Personally, I would (and actually have) gotten the USB 3.0-only model, but that's because all my Macs have USB 3.0 and can take advantage of the much faster speed. Also, I don't particularly trust external storage that uses more than one drive, and RAID 0: more drives with no redundancy equals more parts that can fail.

    On the other hand, for your situation, the Studio II model might be a better choice if you're willing to spend the extra cash. If your Mac has a FireWire 800 port, then that will be faster for you than going through USB, since your Mac has only USB 2.0.
     
  15. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #15
    I agree on the "single drive" external storage solutions, but is there something out there that has 3+TB on a single drive and FW800?
     

Share This Page