Do my eyes deceive me?! (Chrome Related)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WonkyPanda, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. WonkyPanda macrumors regular

    WonkyPanda

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #1
    Has chrome stopped using the dedicated gpu?! This is madness!!! Awesome if this is true, or my gfxstatus is just crapping on me.
     
  2. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
  3. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #3
    See the bold...
     
  4. getheo macrumors member

    getheo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
  5. BlaqkAudio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    It was one of the improvements in Chrome 16, 16.0.912.0 to be exact.
     
  6. some idiot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #6
    I'm using Chrome 16.0.912.63 and it's using my dedicated graphics.
     
  7. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    yes, chrome improved a lot. I thought it was due to upgrading to 8GB RAM, but maybe it was a chrome update.

    I have to go to very weird websites to activate the discrete GPU now.
     
  8. snazzyiphoneguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #8
    stupid question but how do you tell what is using the dedciated graphics card
     
  9. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9
    you can either use gfxcardstatus or "About this Mac" -> "More Info" to find out which GPU is currently in use (only one of them can be active at the same time)

    When no program is running and the laptop is idle, the integrated GPU is being used. Then you start one application, and check the status again. If after starting an application the dedicated GPU is active, you know that application uses the dedicated GPU.


    @WonkyPanda

    Can you play the "dark knight rises" trailer from http://www.thedarkknightrises.com/ , viewing options -> flash high definition, in full screen, without the mac switching to the dedicated GPU?
     
  10. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #10
    See the bold...
     
  11. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #11
    Hey, that's my bit! ;)
     
  12. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #12
    Same with uTorrent
    I think Apple tweaked it a bit
     
  13. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #13
    I see... I downloaded it too, but it keeps showing the "a" icon in my dock, which stands for AMD graphic card... why though? I just woke my MBP from sleep and I only have my Mail App and Firefox with 3 tabs open......
     
  14. getheo macrumors member

    getheo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #14
    You can click on ''a'' and see for what program is in use. I really hope SKYPE to use only the integrated card.
     
  15. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #15
    Oh, of course... stupid me. Since it's hooked to the external monitor, I guess it's pretty obvious that it will utilize the dedicated GPU....
     
  16. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #16
    Since it's connected to an external, and by that I'm assuming it's also connected to power, why would you want to use anything but the discrete card? The integrated card is really only good for extended battery life.
     
  17. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #17
    So that it wouldn't constantly burden the dedicated GPU and thus add to the MBP heat and consequently cause the fans to start running at more rotations than usual... ;)
     
  18. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #18
    It's all within spec, and thus won't hurt the computer. Some people here seem to think that the fans running is something to be avoided... the less heat the better, yes, but at idle the discrete GPU puts out barely more heat than the integrated GPU. Apple has designed these computers for work, and those fans can run at maximum speed for a very, VERY long time.
     
  19. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #19
    I see... so I guess an average temp. of 65C is ok for a GPU? I guess I'm also slightly uneasy about my CPU avg., which is between 70-75C, though....
     
  20. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #20
    Has your Mac ever shut down from high temps? Have you ever gotten a high temp warning? If not, then don't worry about it.
     
  21. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #21
    I noticed that with Firefox too - thought it was the 9.0 update.
     
  22. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #22
    I don't care about heat, but I prefer no noise ;)
    I like how I can put load on one core without the machine getting loud :)
     

Share This Page