Do not have sufficient privilages (Move app to app folder)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iMacBook, Jun 5, 2008.

  1. iMacBook macrumors 6502a

    iMacBook

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Down by the bay.
    #1
    I get this when trying to move Firefox to my applications folder:
    [​IMG]

    I am the only account on this computer and I have admin access (obviously). Please help.
     
  2. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    In a terminal please type 'ls -le /<pathname>/Firefox.app'
    and 'ls -le /Applications', where '<pathname>' is the list of
    folders that enclose Firefox. Also, type 'id'.

    If you return to us with the results, we may be able to help
    you.

    Thanks.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Or the easy way..

    Delete the existing Firefox.app in your Applications folder and then try again.
    It'll work this time.




    This happen from time to time for me with Firefox and with Transmit.
     
  4. iMacBook thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMacBook

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Down by the bay.
    #4
    Time to time? It just happens once in a while?

    For Infrared:

    For the first command:
    Code:
    ICanHazMoarRAMz:~ cyclonejack4$ ls -le /Applications/Firefox.app
    total 0
    drwxr-xr-x@ 9 502  admin  306 Jun  5 11:20 Contents
    
    Second command:
    Displays a list of all my applications. I assume you want the entry for Firefox:
    Code:
    drwxr-xr-x@  3 502           admin          102 May 12 06:45 Firefox.app
    
    And, for the 'id' command:
    Code:
    ICanHazMoarRAMz:~ cyclonejack4$ id
    uid=501(cyclonejack4) gid=501(cyclonejack4) groups=501(cyclonejack4),98(_lpadmin),80(admin),101(com.apple.sharepoint.group.1)

    Hope that helps.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Yes, time to time.. I'm talking over the last 7 years that I've been using OS X.
    Particularly when I don't change the permissions on my /Applications folders.

    Seriously, if you already have Firefox in that folder, just trash the original and drop the new one and you're done.

    FYI, you're missing a space in the first command. A space between the -le flag and the path you're specifying.
     
  6. iMacBook thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMacBook

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Down by the bay.
    #6
    Thanks.

    Well, I just want to know if this will keep happening each time I update Firefox manually. I know that won't be that annoying if I do it once in a while, but I want everything to be working fine.
     
  7. mwxiao macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    I have the same problem after I transfer my stuff from my old MB to MBP. I thought it was some permission issue that I did when I moved my stuff over to the new Mac.

    My solution was to delete old app, and then copy the new one.

    But I would like to know any real solutions. This bothers me some time.
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Well, that is a real solution! :)

    But ultimately, it is a permissions issue.

    EDIT: Working on a reproducible example right now.

    So.. I changed the permissions on Firefox.app so the ownership uid:gid = root:admin, which is how most apps are listed by default.

    Code:
    null:~ yellow$ ls -led /Applications/Firefox.app 
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 root  admin  102 May 30 12:45 /Applications/Firefox.app
    Guess what happens when I try to drag & drop a new Firefox.app into my /Applications folder? Yep. You guessed it. I'm not allowed because I lack the proper permissions.

    So, I changed the permissions so I am the owner.

    Code:
    null:~ yellow$ ls -led /Applications/Firefox.app 
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 yellow  admin  102 May 30 12:45 /Applications/Firefox.app
    
    Guess what I can do now? Overwrite the original file with a drag & drop.

    So, you can either fire up the Terminal and change permissions when this happens, or via Get Info.. or just trash the original and copy over the new.
     
  9. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #9
    Well, it certainly looks like you have the necessary
    rights for these files. And if you can delete Firefox
    and then do the copy, it's hard to understand why
    that message popped up.

    When I next boot into OS X, I'll investigate. Thanks.
     
  10. iMacBook thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMacBook

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Down by the bay.
    #10
    What can I do in Terminal to change them?

    I've done Get Info on the Applications folder to make sure I could read and write and I can. So, I give up!
     
  11. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    It's not about read/write. It's about ownership, e.g., the UID and GID that claim ownership of the app bundle. Do this in Terminal:

    ls -led /Applications/Firefox.app

    And post your results.
     
  12. iMacBook thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMacBook

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Down by the bay.
    #12
    Code:
    ICanHazMoarRAMz:~ cyclonejack4$ ls -led /Applications/Firefox.app
    drwxr-xr-x@ 3 cyclonejack4  cyclonejack4  102 May 30 12:45 /Applications/Firefox.app
     
  13. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    Now.. that looks like you should have no problems overwriting Firefox.
    And, just to make sure, Firefox isn't running is it?

    Code:
    null:~ yellow$[B] ps -axwww | grep Firefox[/B]
    33371 ??         0:04.12 /Applications/Firefox.app/Contents/MacOS/firefox-bin -psn_0_3232533
    33378 ttys001    0:00.01 grep Firefox
    
    I'm beginning to think that in your case, there's something else at issue here, namely your apparent lack of membership in GIDs 81 and 79.

    Code:
    null:~ yellow$ id
    uid=501(yellow) gid=20(staff) groups=20(staff),98(_lpadmin),81(_appserveradm),79(_appserverusr),80(admin)
    
    Are you a local admin? Are you authenticating via OD or AD or something?
     
  14. iMacBook thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMacBook

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Down by the bay.
    #14
    When I did that? Yes, it was. Should it not have been?
     
  15. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    LOL.. yes. You cannot replace it because it's currently in use.
    Quit first, then overwrite. Should work fine then.
     
  16. iMacBook thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMacBook

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Down by the bay.
    #16
    Well, I already replaced it. I just trashed the original and dragged it into my folder and had no problems.

    But, I hope this doesn't come up again.

    Thanks for the help. :)
     

Share This Page