Do not update - its breaking everyones AppleTV tonight

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by FreeState, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    if you have not updates - do not try it tonight. There is a problem going on where everyone that updates gets a bad copy of the software and its forcing you to restore and run the factory installed software - the update will not work.
     
  2. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #2
    I don't know about everyones. I updated 2 :apple:TVs and they work fine.
     
  3. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #3
    updated my eSata atv this morning... kids used it most of the evening.
    Then about an hour ago BAM. she no work any longer.
     
  4. Lancetx macrumors 68000

    Lancetx

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    The problem with the update didn't first pop up until about 10pm ET. Since then, everyone that has run the update has an issue with the unit constantly rebooting to the Apple logo screen.
     
  5. downinitjr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Same here. Updated this morning, played around with it for a bit before leaving for work. I could not get the genius playlists or on the go playlists to work, so tonight I did a factory restore, and updated again, and now its stuck in the endless apple logo reboot.
     
  6. FreeState thread starter macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    You updated them tonight? Then congrats your the only one I know of that did not get a brick
     
  7. Lancetx macrumors 68000

    Lancetx

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Seems to be working now. Must have been a server issue on Apple's end.
     
  8. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #8
    I updated yesterday afternoon (I'm gmt +2) and it's been working like a champ. The only thing I noticed is that I can't seem to put it to sleep by holding the play button on the remote for 5-6 sec's... Anyone know what's going on with that?
     
  9. Warranty Voider macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Maine, US
    #9
    The update worked fine... up until 2 minutes ago. :mad: When I went to use my apple tv, I got the apple logo... BTW, I was thinking about installing some apps on it. Is it safe to do with the new update?

    Yah, they changed it. Now you just go to Settings: Standby
     
  10. stofferdk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #10
     
  11. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #11
    I updated as soon as I saw the update was released, and I haven't had any problems...
     
  12. Deej macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I've got an issue, although the appletv isn't bricked at all.

    Quite simply, when you go into music -> artists, you get other people's music not the artist's!

    I've checked on the 'source' iTunes library and everything is fine, as is Front Row on that Mac.

    Stumped! Anybody seen this sort of thing before?
     
  13. Volante macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #13
    Is this the rumored "Brick" codename? :/ Couldn't it have waited until 1st of April.
     
  14. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #14
    The old standby still works.
     
  15. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #15
    That's strange and I thought it was VERY weird when I updated my TV 160GB yesterday evening. When the update was downloaded and I clicked to install the software the  logo kept popping up and then disappearing as if it was rebooting aprx. 20 times a minute. It did this for a minute until it came to the  logo with the loading bar below it. Then after it completed the bar it appeared to reboot about 5 times with the  logo popping up and then disappearing every 2 seconds or so... After that it did the fancy little TV startup and all was good... Have not had a problem since...
     
  16. sanPietro98 macrumors 6502a

    sanPietro98

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    28.416834,-81.581214
    #16
    I told ATV to update before I went to bed last night. In the morning it was fine. No problems to report.
     
  17. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #17
    I have updated several of them, and no problems.
     
  18. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #18
    The standby function from the remote seems to work fine now. Don't know why it wouldn't let me put it to sleep from the remote the first couple times.

    Everything is working great now.
     

Share This Page