iPad Do not want to accidentally upgrade OS.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by getstuff4less, Mar 27, 2013.

  1. getstuff4less macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #1
    Is there anyway I can have my iPad not check for OS/software updates? I do not want to accidentally click the button to lose the jailbreak.
     
  2. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #3
    If you have the latest version of the evasi0n jailbreak, it's already disabled. They disabled it in version 1.2, I believe. Even if you go into the software update tab, it'll just spin its wheels as it tries to contact the server.
     
  3. getstuff4less thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #4
    I downloaded it and upgraded my software to 6.1. Does the evati0n update automatically on my iPad? Or is it already disabled? I can download the software update killer If need be, but if I don't have to, then I rather not.
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    If you are jailbroken with evasi0n and have all the latest packages updated in cydia, you do NOT have to install software update killer. I would recommend installing resetallkiller just in case so no one will accident press "erase all content and reset settings" and put the iPad into an infinite reboot loop and the only way out is to restore
     
  5. tastycaramel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    singapore
    #6
    If you had jailbroken your iPad, you would not be able to update your iOS. It will give you an error message if you attempt to update. Trust me, I had done it several times with my iPod Touch jailbroken with redsn0w.
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #7
    Only for evasi0n jailbreak, not for earlier JB's
     
  7. tastycaramel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    singapore
    #8
    For my iPod touch, I had a previous tethered redsnow JB and I was unable to update iOS. It would always give an error message when installing
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  9. fskywalker macrumors 65816

    fskywalker

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #10
    That's true! That is what my Iphone 5 does! I'm glad they did that since that way my wife and daughter's I5"s won't get upgraded by mistake!:)
     

Share This Page