Do Nothing, 4K or iMac Retina

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Mr Ski 73, Jan 17, 2016.

1. Mr Ski 73 macrumors regular

Hi

I am based in the UK and have a 2010 MP with a hex 3.33ghz processor, 32GB RAM and about 5TB of storage inc a OWC Accelsior boot drive. I use a Samsung 27A850 monitor which runs at 2560x1440 driven by my ATI 5870. I am a keen amateur photographer and use DXO and Lightroom extensively. This is a factor as DXO uses maximum processor power and I have 6 cores rather than 4 cores for the iMac.

Given recent articles I visits to the apple store I am impressed with the Retina 5k displays and have the itch as to weather to upgrade. This is purely to get the display as I don't think I will gain anything from the computer itself.

My options as I see them are as follows

1. Do nothing (unsure on the benefit of going from 2560 to 4k, from what I can see it may not be that great I and I am just wowed by the apple marketing and store display images
    2. Upgrade to a flashed Nvidia 670 graphics card (macvideocards) and get a Dell P2715Q, sell my Samsung monitor and ATI card
    3. Get the best iMac and then upgrade the RAM and go shopping for an external storage housing

Any thoughts welcome

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I use DXO as well, and perhaps I'm not as serious as an amateur photographer as you, but I've always found 4 cores to be fine for my needs, heck, I've actually run Lightroom and DXO on a dual core SP3. While no speed demon that respect it handles it decently.

How many images are you pumping through DXO?

3. Mr Ski 73 thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the reply, probably 100-150.

4. smallcoffee macrumors 6502a

DO nothing or purchase the upgrades. Buying an iMac just for the monitor when your MP is working just fine seems like a sup-optimal use of cash.

5. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

Well from all reports the screens are excellent especially on the 2015 configuration.