Do people really make good money in Photo/Video?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by johnee, Apr 19, 2007.

1. johnee macrumors 6502a

johnee

I've noticed a lot of people indicate they need their machines for photo/video editing. I'm an engineer, so by definition I have no real creativity and it's hard for me to understand how people can make money from producing videos, editing photos, or other general graphical design work.

If you are one of these people, let me ask you this:
    What type of work do you do?

What clientel do you usually attract?

Do your clients come to you or do you have to approach them?

Do you have work all the time?

it's questions like these that make reality tv a hit :mad: :)))

Thanks!

2. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

Neither do I, nor 90% of the rest of us.

That's how creatives make money, providing a service that the talent-challenged are willing to pay for. ;)

3. johnee thread starter macrumors 6502a

johnee

You really think most people don't have any creativity? I guess you're right after I give it some thought, but it came as a shock to me to see people making their livelyhood off it. I think I have the concept of the starving artist in my head...

4. grum macrumors regular

Think a lot of ppl in that field work freelance/self-employed doing contract work. The money for that kind of thing can be pretty damn good, providing you can do all the work yourself and do it efficiently.

The problem of course is having a reliable income.

5. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

That may be too broad. Let's just say that most of us either have not had the training to properly employ our inherent creativity, or that we are preoccupied with other pursuits more important to ourselves and/or society.

Yeah, I can rationalize with the best of 'em! :D

6. johnee thread starter macrumors 6502a

johnee