Do running apps in the background affect Android's performance?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by stanw, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. stanw macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #1
    When doing a long press of the home button on my Note2 I see lots of apps, are these apps that are running in the background? Should they be closed? Does it affect androids performance?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    I really think it depends on what app it is....something like browser would not effect battery, but something like gmail chat would since it is actively running. Not 100% sure, but that is something I noticed when using an android or any phone.
     
  3. Ericcc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal
    #3
    It shouldn't in theory, but in practice, it depends on how well your app is coded.

    This should be of no concern to someone using a Note 2 though; your device is future-proofed enough. Constantly checking and killing background apps will only lead to COD and minimal gain lol. Plus, you might actually kill something used quite often, and your device will consume extra resources relaunching it.
     
  4. hyteckit, Dec 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 4, 2012

    hyteckit Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    #4
    Because the long press in Note 2 activates a "recent app list". It's not really an app switcher.

    It doesn't even show the music app that playing my music.

    To get a list of apps running, you need to tap on the left button with an icon of a pie chart after to do a long press on the home button. You can then 'End' whatever active application is running.
     
  5. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #5
    It depends on the app. Most apps are suspended and cache. By swiping the app from the recent app list it will clear the cache. You can actively watch it happen, goto settings > app > running > then in the upper corner "Show cached processes".....

    Apps that are running will be shown under "show running services".

    Performance shouldnt be effected, the OS will kill apps as RAM is required.
     

Share This Page