Do the current iMacs use desktop or laptop CPU's?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ThomasJL, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. ThomasJL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    From the introduction of the very first iMac and for the many subsequent revisions during the PPC days, iMacs used desktop CPU's. When Apple made the switch to Intel, they started using laptop CPU's in iMacs. So, my question is this: Are today's iMacs using laptop or desktop CPU's?
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Apple currently uses the Intel Core i3 and i5 processors in the iMac. These processors are also available for notebook computers, but the power of them make them desktop-only (ex. 3.2 GHz).
     
  3. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    They use clarkdale and lynnfield CPUs, so they are desktop grade.
     
  4. chris98vf macrumors regular

    chris98vf

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #4
    people like to think that iMac's are laptops that have stands but aside from the DVD drive they are desktops inside and out. Even the hard drive is a full size 3.5"
     
  5. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    RAM is laptop RAM though. But aside from that little tidbit. You are correct. And I'm glad you are. I love my iMac.
     
  6. nStyle macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #6
    The GPU is mobile as well...

    Apple, for better or worse, is more concerned with aesthetics and design before components. It would be nearly impossible to fit top of the line components in the current sized iMacs, due to space constraints and heat issues.
     
  7. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Desktop: CPU, Hard Drive, Form factor

    Notebook: Everything else
     
  8. ThomasJL thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #8
    Aren't laptop components more expensive?

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't all laptop components more expensive than their relative desktop components?

    If so, then wouldn't it make more sense for Apple to only use desktop components for their iMacs?
     
  9. iMikeT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #9

    True, for the most part.



    The biggest constraint is the all-in-one flat screen design. Compromises needed to be made to satisfy the form factor.
     
  10. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #10
    Are you insinuating that components designed primarily for use in laptops is of inferior quality to those used in desktops?! I'm sure owners of Macbooks will agree with you! :)
     

Share This Page