Do they make Firewire Pcmcia Card for G3/G4 PB?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by msbeth72, May 8, 2008.

  1. msbeth72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #1
    Hi Ya'll
    Does anyone know if there is a good Firewire IEEE 400 PCMCIA card that i can use with my G4 & G3 powerbook? I know it'll have to have external power...I just don't have enough ports and I can't daisychain cause one of the ports on my external Lacie drive is broke......see the harddrive on my G4 PB broke..so i boot it from an external firewire drive (everytime:( )and that leaves me no ports to, say..plug-in an ipod etc...so if anyone has any comments i'd sure appreciate it....
    I ordered a "sdk"pcmcia 1394a ieee cardbus off ebay w/3ports..and power, it said it worked on macs but it doesnt i wondered why it was o darn cheap! i can't even get it to work on my pc (thinkpad) so bummer..oh well live n learn...when i plug it in to my pcmcia slot i get the icon at top of my screen then, below it, it says "unknown vendor firewire controller" (grayed out) underneath says "poweroff card"
    at this point i just wanna buy a card ...

    Thanks much!!!!
    Beth:eek:
     
  2. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #2
    They sure do. I have one. Mine is a Belkin 3 Port hub, with what looks like a AC port for power. However, i never had to plug anything into it besides a firewire cable to get my external HD to work.

    If your interested i could sell you mine, for say $25? PM me if you want it.
     
  3. msbeth72 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #3
    firewire hub

    Rats...i just bought one on ebay for $35...thanks ..but i was wondering i have a Lacie external drive that requires power do u think i could just plug it into my hub and nix the power supply to the external drive?
     
  4. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #4
    Probably not. Bigger external 3.5" drives require more power. If it was a laptop drive [2.5"] then all it would need for power would be the Firewire cable.
     
  5. msbeth72 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #5
    firewire pcmcia

    Thanks for the info!!! it's coming in the mail 2morrow so hopefully all will work well..if i'll be here again asking questions hehehe

    thanks so much for your input

    ....beth
     

Share This Page