Do UTIs change based on the country of origin?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by BadWolf13, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. BadWolf13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #1
    When I learned about UTIs, the first thing I noticed was that the first domain is like the last domain in a webpage. Now webpages generally change their last domain in their address based on what country. ie, co.uk for England, .dk for Danmark, and so forth. So what I'm wondering is, do UTIs do the same thing?

    I'm not in the US, so would I do a UTI as com.myCompany.Application, or ca.myCompany.Application?
     
  2. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #2
    The point is to make them globally unique. That "globally" is not really referring to world-wide, but that would help to make sure that you are not crossing paths with anyone else.
     
  3. Sydde macrumors 68020

    Sydde

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #3
    UTI == uniform type identifier

    "Uniform" would seem to imply consistency.
     
  4. ARF900 macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #4
    No, urinary tract infections are the same internationally.

    BEDTIME
     
  5. BadWolf13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5
    So is it fair to sa that I can customize it based on my country, but it's generally not done that way?
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    Correct. There is really no need to do per-country customization. In fact, doing so for documents can be detrimental for people trying to share across country borders, unless each version of the application has all the possible UTIs registered.
     
  7. BadWolf13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #7
    Perhaps I'm not explaining the question properly. Let me put it this way. I'm a software developer that doesn't live in America. So, to all the other non-american developers, do your UTIs start with com, or do you use your country's domain?
     
  8. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    Oh, in that case... yes! You do use your country's domain.
     
  9. Sander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #9
    I just took the URL of my company website, in reverse order. Since I'm targeting "the world" as my customers and not just "my country", I own www.curly-brace.com. Unfortunately, dashes are apparently not supported, so I use com.curlybrace.xyz for my UTIs.
     

Share This Page