Do we have a defective 2011 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Buffsteria, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. Buffsteria, Jun 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012

    Buffsteria macrumors regular

    Buffsteria

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #1
    This is my 2011 iMac's Cinebench. It's being reported as a 2 core/4 thread. The i5-2400 3.1 Sandy Bridge processor should be registering as 4 core/4 thread.
    [​IMG]

    This is our 2009 Core 2 Duo 3.06Ghz.
    [​IMG]

    The 2009 sure is a lot faster than the 2011 in loading programs and running the OpenGL test. Both are running Mac OSX Snow Leopard. Both are 27". The 2011 has 16GB RAM, the 2009 has 12GB. The 2009 is still faster. By a lot.

    I think we got a lemon.
     
  2. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Open Activity Monitor and see if you have stats for 4 CPUs. If you don't, you have a problem.
     
  3. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
  4. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    Probably missing about 40 nm of silicon.

    I find it more impressive that the CPU continues to run successfully anyway.
     
  5. Buffsteria thread starter macrumors regular

    Buffsteria

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #5
    Activity monitor says all 4 are working. But it still makes no sense that it would score so low. Or that the GPU scored so low.

    The 2011 has 16GB RAM, the 2009 has 12GB. The 2009 is still faster. By a lot.
     
  6. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #6
    Maybe the 2009 has SSD and you dont which is a major performance impact
     
  7. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    If Activity Monitor is reporting the CPUs, then it sounds more likely there's a software problem with the benchmark software, and you should try a different one.
     
  8. lixuelai, Jun 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012

    lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #8
    You should be seeing 8 processors with Activity Monitor. 4 physical processors each able to handle 2 threads = 8 logical processors. So the system should be 4 cores/8 threads. Looks like your quad thinks it is a dual for some reason. That said though I have no clue if you are reading Activity Monitor correctly without a screenshot. In your screenshots from cinebench the cpu clockspeed doesn't really make sense. If anything the cpu is probably utilizing Turbo Boost.

    edit: See correction below
     
  9. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
  10. lixuelai, Jun 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012

    lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #10
    Thanks for the correction. Looking at it again the cpu is working fine. From the spec sheet (looking at the 2400s which wiki says is the iMac cpu) the maximum Turbo Boost frequency is 3.3Ghz which is probably single thread. So for 2x 3.1Ghz seems about right.

    This is assuming the 21.5" iMac which the OP most likely have.
     
  11. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
  12. Buffsteria thread starter macrumors regular

    Buffsteria

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #12
    It's a 27". Both are 27". The 2011 has 16GB of RAM. The other has 12GB.
     
  13. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #13
    You should be having much better framerate than that. Try some differant software. See what the outcome from that is.
     
  14. Buffsteria thread starter macrumors regular

    Buffsteria

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #14
    I'm wondering if it's because we uninstalled Lion and replaced it with snow Leopard. I'm going to try again after re-installing Lion.

    But that will probably break Headus UVLayout...grrr.
     
  15. Rlnplehshalo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #15
    I would suggest testing other benchmark programs to see if they can pick up 4 cores.
     
  16. Lancer macrumors 68020

    Lancer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    Note to self - run bench mark tests when I get my new iMac...
     
  17. Sam Spade macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #17
    Can someone recommend test(s) that new iMac (or Mac) owners should run once they receive their new machines?
     

Share This Page