Do we need 8G ram in 11 or 13 MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by zhangqin200000, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. zhangqin200000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #1
    I heard that the newest Intel process support up to 8G RAM, does new MBA support? Is it necessary to wait apple to add the 8G RAM option?
     
  2. Lord Appleseed, Jul 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

    Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #2
    Do we need it? Certainly not.

    Could some people use it? Why yes, they could.

    Should the MBA be available with a 8GB RAM option? Yes, yes it should, not the 11" though.
     
  3. Catdog12349 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #3
    My 11" inch that i just got has 4g ram and with lion and like safari or chrome running its constantly using about 2 gigs of ram +- .5. So if you don't need one now i would wait.
     
  4. s.hasan546 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    sorry but you may speak for your self but not for everyone.

    Do we need it? Yes if you use Parallels.

    Could A LOT of people use it? Hell yeah. I consistently go over 4 gb ram on my mbp 13" w/ 8gb ram. Running windows in parallels + 20-30 tabs + quickbooks + mail + calendar + flash video kills ram.

    Should it be an option? Yes. Why the hell wouldn't the 11" get it? You make no sense. Apple already made the 11" almost the same specs as the 13".
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #5
    Indeed +


    With the BTO i7 - bar sd-card slot and extra 1.5" they are the same spec.
     
  6. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #6
    It should be a BTO option on the top end models.
     
  7. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #7
    So?

    Which not too many people do with an Air, but as I said, they should add a 8GB option.

    YOU seem to be special here. You are definitely using your computer on a much higher level than 99% of the MacBook Air buyers.

    No, you make no sense. The 11" Air was not made for parallels, 30 tabs, and other CPU and Ram exausing tasks.
     
  8. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #8
    I have no idea about WE, but I am contemplating returning because I am at a RAM ceiling. I thought the ssd may help offset it, but it seems not enough. I had been scraping by with 4 gigs on my old mbp, but after building a hackintosh with 16gigs and then using the air, it's the only frustrating thing about this device. What a bummer they wouldn't allow 8, and for absolutely no reason other than to make people go pro.

    So in order to get more ram, I have to give up form factor and weight - and go back to a crayola resolution or spend a ton more.

    boo.

    So we... who knows.. me, yup.
     
  9. Obscurelight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    If the air starts stacking up to the MBP line in specs, I wonder which one people will get :rolleyes:

    Once 8GB RAM is put into the MBA then people will start going overboard like the poster that uses 20-30 tabs then start whining when they end up with 1 hour battery life.
     
  10. s.hasan546 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    Special? thanks but a lot of mac users use parallels. Esp. since this is an ultraportable that many business users use and they need windows. How was the 11" air not "made for parallels; etc" when the 11" has the same specs besides screen size and battery life than as the 13".

    Also the 11" w/ 4 gb ram gets benchmark scores better than or close to 2010 & 2011 mbps. So i don't see how the mba can't handle cpu and memory exhausting tasks. so no you def. don't make sense. :rolleyes:
     
  11. reputationZed macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.
    #11
    **** stop using Flash, problem solved ****
     
  12. s.hasan546 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    spoken like a true apple fanboy. keep drinking that steve job's coolaid. :roll eyes:
     
  13. s.hasan546 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY
    #13
    the new mba already stacks up to the 13" mbp line in specs. Except in maximum ram. However, the average user probably doesn't even know that.

    i never complained about battery life. I understand the computer is very very small and than you can't ask for technology that hasn't been developed at a reasonable cost yet. However, 8 gb ram is something apple could have easily done.
     
  14. rkheyfets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    Most people probably wont need it however it would be nice to have as an option and to future proof the laptop, as with apples current OS progression they double the min ram with each new release thus OS 10.8 will pro require a min of 4gb, thus all current (and older) macbook airs probably wont be able to upgrade to OS 10.9 (8gb min?, pro wont be until 2015-2016)
    but thats a ways off but still would be nice to have the 8gb of ram option
    but yea most people dont need it
     
  15. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #15
    Why ? Flash is not RAM intensive, it's CPU intensive. Anyone thinking more RAM is going to help Flash is obviously clueless.

    Same for VMs. You don't have to give up 4 GB of RAM to your guest OS. It probably doesn't even need that much.

    Again, who's this "we" ? Some people need it, some people don't, it depends on workflows, apps, and proper configurations. There is no "we".
     
  16. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #16
    Of course he doesn't speak for everyone, its just silly to think otherwise. He said it should be an option, but you still had to be contrary.
     
  17. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #17
    A lot is still relatively few compared to the ones who don't use it.

    And I nowhere said the 11" couldn't handle exhausting tasks, i said that it wasn't made for it, especially in therms of battery life. There is no real need to have a 11" with 8GB Ram. Not alone because the screen is pretty small to actually "work" on it...but thats personal preference.
     
  18. emoore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    #18
    If there was an 8 GB option I would have purchased by now. I don't consider myself a heavy computer user but i use almost 3 GB on my 2007 macbook right now and I can only image that will increase in the future. 4 GB is fine right now but I think it might be a bit short in a few years and I like to keep my computers for 4 or 5 years.
     
  19. BBC Model B macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #19
    You can plug a cinema display into a 11 inch. They're pretty big. I would have bought 8GB if it was an option. So would my colleagues. We travel a lot. 11 is perfect size for working on the move.

    Just our personal preference. And that of others. Plenty of reason to put 8GB into an 11 inch. And 1TB storage. Build it and we will come.
     
  20. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #20
    Wont happen until SSDs get much cheaper...
     
  21. reputationZed macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.
    #21
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I was responding to the OP's statement that flash kills ram. But your right, it was a clueless statement on my part, I should have put more thought into what I said.
     
  22. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #22
    This whole discussion sounds like a guy wanting a Miata but having to cart around the kids.

    If you have to cart around the kids, its mini-van time for you buddy.... :D

    If you want the sleekness and portability of the Air, you have to give something up. They just can't fit that much into such a small case. And when they can, whatever they can fit in the larger Pro case will be faster and better.

    If you have to do serious heavy lifting, you need a Pro. That's why Apple makes more than one laptop line. Different strokes for different folks. :apple:
     
  23. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #23
    There is absolutely no reason they couldn't have put 8gb in the air. Look at the teardown.

    Your analogy is flawed.
     
  24. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #24
    Yes, and I can also fit the kids in the trunk of the Miata. What's your point? :p
     
  25. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #25
    Why are you keeping up with the analogy?

    You stated there are things that must be given up because they can't be fit. They CAN fit 8 gb, but chose not to.

    If you really want to go with the car analogy find something else.

    M3 4 dr has a v8
    you want the two door but it can only have a 4 cyl

    there, an accurate analogy - no reason you shouldn't get the v8 if you lop 2 doors off.
     

Share This Page